Skype App coming to iPhone on Tuesday

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pugnut, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. iPhoneNYC macrumors 6502a

    iPhoneNYC

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #2
    In the meantime, I would check out Truphone. Works very well for international. Needs wifi as well for best results.
     
  2. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #3
  3. askthedust macrumors regular

    askthedust

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    enlightenment
    #4
    truphone

    the few different variations i tried with truphone were clunky with a lot of echo.

    It's about time for Skype. Bye Bye vonage in my house....

    30 bucks for year of skype vs 18x12= 216 year for basic vonage with fees and tax. that savings buys a touch or iphone....
     
  4. =MuLti-CeLL= macrumors 6502a

    =MuLti-CeLL=

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    m0biLe
    #5
  5. FearNo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #6
    It sux that skype only works via wifi. at+t is at it again... :mad: :rolleyes:
     
  6. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #7
    Look at all those haters! :eek: (on the first link)

    What they do not realise is that Windows mobile has been out for donkeys years, so of course Skype will be out earlier on WM that it is on the iPhone :rolleyes:
     
  7. diemos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #9
    Yup, Skype is the bomb. Can hardly wait 'til it's released tomorrow.....:cool::cool::cool::cool:
     
  9. FearNo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #10
    One huge benefit of the WM version of skype is that you can make voice calls using the data plan. You can not do that with iphone, thx to at+t.

     
  10. aok1975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #11
    ..but how will recieve the same call you used to recieve on your vonage phone, if the skype app is not open?
     
  11. aok1975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #12
    They are right, skype should have come long time ago. If truphone, fring and nimbuzz are out, skype should have been there too. Im sure apple has something to do with that.
     
  12. Luke1robb macrumors 6502a

    Luke1robb

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA/Smithfield, RI
    #13
    Just to point out, Engadget just broke the news that Skype for iPhone hit Japan literally at 12:00am on Tuesday, so expect it in your timezone at 12:00am on Tuesday... enjoy.
     
  13. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #14
    *starts watching clock*
     
  14. FearNo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #15
    I am thinking its more at+t not wanting skype to work using the data plan. Thus skype had to be changed to only work via wifi.

     
  15. Demon macrumors regular

    Demon

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Location:
    on earth
    #16
    Already using skype on the iPhone...

    Got Skype for an hour now. (have the Japanese iTunes access and the time zone allowed me to get the software a day before State side).

    It's pretty much just... skype. doesn't work over 3G! i can only make calls from WiFi. for some that's enough. but still, it would be nice to have it over 3G...

    the interface is beautiful. i still prefer Fring for it's multiplatform.. but Skype looks great and audio calls to other skypers are great. don't know how iPhone to iPhone would sound. haven't given that a try, but iPhone skype to land line is perfect, just like you'd expect and audio comes through clear. no delay. (WiFi of course)

    it's free. so... might as well give it a try.
     
  16. Tres macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #17
    I have been using it for about 2 hours now. I've not been impressed with the call quality at all. It's been quite laggy.
     
  17. GreggM3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #18
    since AT&T signal absolutely sucks at my house, I wonder if i can forward (no answer transfer) my mobile number to a Skype number while at home? LOL I have the AT&T unlimited plan so it won't cost extra to forward it right? :D
     

Share This Page