Skype hype

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sangs, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. sangs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #1
    OK, help me here. I don't use Skype and have no plans to in the near future. I understand the entire concept of it though.

    What I don't understand is how AT&T's decision to allow Skype users to utilize the 3G network is going to affect the 3G network.

    Is the network going to take a hit? Or is using Skype no different than say somebody surfing with Safari over 3G for a half hour? And if that's so then how in the world would the 3G network even know if somebody was using Skype before AT&T made this decision?

    Just looking for a little guidance on the issue. Bottom line is, I'm hoping the 3G network doesn't suffer from this decision. Thanks.
     
  2. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #2
    It shouldn't affect the network negatively since it's basically the same as someone surfing the web or just making a regular 3G call. I think AT&T's concern was that by allowing it to be used over 3G, people wouldn't need as many minutes from AT&T so they may lose some money.
     
  3. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #3
    The use would simply transfer from minutes called to megabytes used in the data plan.

    The difficulty for some companies is that this renders any long distance plans obselete. For example, Rogers and Fido in Canada have a monthly international plan for which you pay a monthly fee and get special rates (well above the Skype rates) to call abroad. With this new development, you would use Skype on your iPhone to make voip calls at Skype rates. If you have a good enough data plan you will lose nothing on the data use but save substantially on the calls...
     
  4. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #4
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought Skype wasn't even available in the Canadian App Store. Also, this decision only affects AT&T.
     
  5. sangs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #5
    Makes sense. Still don't understand how AT&T could have prevented people from using it the past if all it registers as is data packets though.
     
  6. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6

    It's all about money. If people use Skype exclusively (or even just for outgoing calls like I do), they need very few minutes. Too bad AT&T doesn't offer a plan with less than 450 minutes because I have tons of rollover every month.
     
  7. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #7
    Because Apple made them make their app only work on wifi.

    Taken from their FCC statement.

    "There is a provision in Apple’s agreement with AT&T that obligates Apple not to include functionality in any Apple phone that enables a customer to use AT&T’s cellular network service to originate or terminate a VoIP session without obtaining AT&T’s permission. Apple honors this obligation, in addition to respecting AT&T’s customer Terms of Service, which, for example, prohibit an AT&T customer from using AT&T’s cellular service to redirect a TV signal to an iPhone. From time to time, AT&T has expressed concerns regarding network efficiency and potential network congestion associated with certain applications, and Apple takes such concerns into consideration."
     
  8. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #8
    It is so available. The point is that the app itself has been disabled by Skype to only work in wi-fi areas and not on the cellular network. Apple had demanded this in order for the app to be available for the iPHone. That was allegedly/rumoured to be at AT&T's insistence so that you couldn't make long distance calls on their network or any other providers.

    Now they've dropped their opposition, Skype can release an app which can work on the network.
     
  9. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #9
    My bad - apologies. I know it wasn't available for Canada when it first came out but I guess that has changed.
     
  10. EarthDawn macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
    #10
    LOL i hear that. I have 9,000 plus rollover minutes as of now !

    Skyp works great for me as it stands now though .
     
  11. tjp888 macrumors regular

    tjp888

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #11
    The Skype iPhone app will not work unless the phone had a WiFi connection. That's how AT&T prevented the traffic from going over their 3G network.
     
  12. molala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #12
    is there a version that will work over 3g now?

    not sure i can use it, my "unlimited" data allowance from o2 has a fair usage policy that forbids audio streaming.
     
  13. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #13
    Not yet. Yesterday's decision means that Skype can now present Apple with a 3G compatible app and they will not veto its use on the iPhone. Look forward to seeing it....
     
  14. sangs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #14
    Gotcha. Thanks.
     

Share This Page