Skype Number on IPhone for Roaming?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pauly800, Dec 7, 2014.

  1. pauly800 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #1
    Will be heading to mexico for a bit. I have an unlocked iphone 4s. I will definitely get a sim card and data plan in mexico and i read telcel is the company that i should sign up for when i get there.


    However i heard one could make phone calls with skype as long as you have data. Can someone tell me how this works? First off, i would need a skype number right? And i have to pay for this and its a 1 time fee or yearly fee?
    Do i need to create this number before i leave the usa?


    At the moment i dont have a carrier with my phone as it doesnt have any service. So when i get to mexico, i would use the hotel wifi in the meanntime until i go and get data. Then when i do get a plan, im sure it wont have minutes to the usa so i figure best option is to use the data or use my computer to call back to the usa right? I believe its a few cents a minute only?
     
  2. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #2
    It world the same way Skype works on your computer with wifi. You will only need a number to receive calls. You can call using Skype to any number as long as you have credits. Note that quality may not be great depending on your network speeds in Mexico.
     
  3. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #3
    Do i need a skype number first though? Im confused b/c i read thres a 1 time fee but then i read its a 3 month or 1 year fee? Basically how much would it cost for me to use it for 1 month? Also i read its 2 cents a minute per call from mexico to usa but theres also a 4.9 cent fee as well connection? Thus its 5 cents each call plus 2 cent a minute?
     
  4. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #4
    Skype Number on IPhone for Roaming?

    You do not need a Skype number to make calls. You do need one of you want to receive calls. All you need is to pay for a month of USA calls. It's like $3 not sure.
     
  5. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    No, you don't need a Skype number for outgoing calls. You just need credits.
    There are pay-as-you-go rates as well as subscriptions. You can get one month of unlimited calls to the US for $2.99. See:

    http://www.skype.com/en/rates/

    Just a warning: Don't rely too much on hotel wifi for calling. Skype requires a certain bandwidth and low latency for reasonable call quality. From my experience many hotel networks are just too slow and unreliable.
     
  6. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #6

    Yes i know hotel isn't reliable due to not strong wifi. However assuming once i get a data plan with my phone, i heard telcel is the company ppl in mexico use... does that mean calling to the usa will be easy then?


    Also i think i would just do the pay as you go plan first. So its 2.3 cents a minute but doesn't it cost another 4.9 cents for each call as well? So if i call from skype to usa number, what phone number would show up on the persons landline or mobile then?


    But if i want a skype number where when i have skype on whether its on my laptop or my phone using either wifi or data... then i could receive phone calls? And if so, how much does that cost? I definitely want to be able to call and receive as well.


    Really would like someone whose been in another country whether its mexico or anywhere who could answer these quesitons with skype. Such as those that went to mexico got data plan there and use skype to call the usa or in europoe where they sign up a data plan with their unlocked phone.
     
  7. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #7
    Also theres a 4.9 cent connection fee as well for each call. But if i get the unlimited plan which is only 2.99 to the usa... theres no connection fee at all? If thats the case, isn't it not even close to get the monthly plan since its 2.99 a month?


    Example let say you call 30 times to the usa. Each call on average is 3 minutes. So each phone call cost 5 cent for connection fee, and 7 cents total for 2.3 cents each minute... i read skype rounds up. So its 12 cent a call. Then 30 calls x 0.12 = $3.60. Is the math here right? Thus if you making at least 1 call day, its not even close to get the monthly plan as oppose to the pay as you go?
     
  8. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #8
    From a quick Google search, it seems this carrier may actually block Skype:

    http://www.theyucatantimes.com/2014/02/telcel-blocking-skype-in-mexico/
    You can set your own mobile number or Skype number (if you have one) as the Caller ID. If you don't, it'll show some random number owned by Skype.
    Yes, that's what the Skype number is for. Check their web site for the rate.

    ----------

    Is it really that important whether it's $2.99 or $3.60 a month? It's just pocket change, really. If a few pennies are really that important to you, keep an eye out for discounted Skype credit. E.g. right now Newegg has a 30% off deal:

    http://slickdeals.net/f/7445612-skype-prepaid-credit-30-off
     
  9. IHelpId10t5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #9
    One additional thought is to check into Office 365 if you are considering upgrading your MS Office version any time soon. As part of Office 365 Home subscription you get a bunch of Skype calling minutes as well. I have not looked into the details like adding a Skype number but you might want to have a look.
     
  10. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    I can tell you that the unlimited plans to Hungary do not have a connection fee. You just pay the flat rate each month. I don;t imagine it would be any different with the US.
     
  11. Mrfatboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #11
    I have a Telcel aim when I travel to mexico. It works great. I use Google voice to make and receive calls. I have used Skype and facetime also.

    What part of Mexico are you traveling to?
     
  12. goknicks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
  13. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #13

    Not 100 percent sure yet. But does it matter which part of mexico though? Does that affect where i can use it? Where were you in mexico when you used it?


    What is telcel aim? Wait... you could use google voice to make and receive calls in mexico? I use google voice while in the usa and canada to make calls to usa and canada for free. So i could use google voice in mexico then calling to the usa/canada? I thought it could only be used in the usa/canada? I also like to mention that i didn't have a cell number when i used google voice. I used it on laptop when it has wifi.
     
  14. Mrfatboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #14
    Sorry. Typo. Telcel sim.;)

    Telcel has the best coverage in Mexico. However if you are out in the jungle don't expect great Data coverage :) if you are just in tourist towns expect good 3g/ 4g.

    Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, Cabo, Bara de navidad, San Felipe have all worked fine. But as I said dont expect coverage driving through a jungle or desert.

    Google voice lets you make free calls to the USA/ Canada no matter where you are. I have it set up that if somebody calls me if I'm out of country I get a push notification or the phone rings. Phone actually ringing can be spotty but push notifications always works. Then I just call back.
     
  15. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #15

    Thanks for that information. So when you are in mexico with the telcel sim, do you have the minutes and the data plan as well? Someone told me if im in the tourist area which i would be, wifi would be almost everywhere that i wont need it. Is that true?


    Also is it true even if i get a data plan, then i cant use skype with it? I read something about mexico not allowing skype to be used in data plans?


    I have google voice as well. Do you use it in your computer or your phone? I have it installed in my phone and its called hangouts. Is that what you mean?


    So basically if im in mexico, then i use wifi... then use my iphone with hangouts, i can call to the usa/canada without an issue and even receive calls as well? I do have a google voice number.
     
  16. Mrfatboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #16

    see above for answers
     
  17. pauly800 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #17
    Which plan did you have when you were there? Also when in mexico, how long are you there typically for?


    The thing is for the plans, i probably need very little local minutes and just want data. Can you give me the exact page to the site? I saw it last time but not sure exactly that is the page b/c the rates for data seems way too high.


    What is v3? Also when was the last time you were in mexico btw?
     
  18. Mrfatboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #18
    I go usually for 1 or 2 weeks at a time. I was in PVR 4 months ago.

    GV Mobile V3 is an iphone app.


    I don't have a link But google is your friend. Here are the rates that I used last time. I keep them in my notes. Once you put your sim in you just text the code to 5055. You must be under wifi or already have data/$$ on your sim. Chicken and the egg sort of thing.

    The prices are in pesos.

    I bought my telcel sim in a Telcel store in Mexico. You will need you password port. It helps to speak spanish. It's about $14 USD. You can then put some money on the sim and buy your data plan right there. They can help you.

    I know of a guy that bought his Telcel sim on Ebay or Amazon. It was $30 USD and I believe it had a Mexico City phone number. Just keep local/long distance calls in mind. I sounds like you are just you data like me so it's not a big deal.


    Vigencia MB/GB Incluidos Precio IVA Incluido Clave
    1 hr. 10 MB $ 5.00 bajo1h
    1 día 30 MB $ 19.00 bajo1
    2 días 50 MB $ 39.00 bajo2
    7 días 200 MB $ 59.00 bajo7
    15 días 600 MB $ 199.00 bajo15
    30 días 1 GB $ 299.00 bajo30
    Consumo Medio:
    Recomendado para enviar y recibir correos, mensajerías instantáneas, Redes Sociales y navegación moderada en páginas de Internet.

    Vigencia MB/GB Incluidos Precio IVA Incluido Clave
    1 hr. 30 MB $ 9.00 medio1h
    1 día 50 MB $ 29.00 medio1
    2 días 100 MB $ 59.00 medio2
    7 días 400 MB $ 99.00 medio7
    15 días 1 GB $ 229.00 medio15
    30 días 2 GB $ 339.00 medio30
    Consumo Alto:
    Recomendado para enviar y recibir correos, mensajerías instantáneas, Redes Sociales y navegación total en Internet.

    Vigencia MB/GB Incluidos Precio IVA Incluido Clave
    1 hr. 100 MB $ 12.00 alto1h
    1 día 150 MB $ 49.00 alto1
    2 días 300 MB $ 79.00 alto2
    7 días 1 GB $ 169.00 alto7
    15 días 1.5 GB $ 249.00 alto15
    30 días 3 GB $ 399.00
     

Share This Page