Skype on my Powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zoran, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is there some way i can have a working Skype version on my Powerbook that uses Leopard?
     
  2. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Of course there is. Download the latest version for PowerPC (2.8) and follow these steps. Skype should be up and working in no time. Everything except webcam chat support at least.
     

    Attached Files:

    • g.png
      g.png
      File size:
      38.5 KB
      Views:
      50
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    But i thought that Skype would stop supporting Mac OS prior Snow Leopard, isn't this correct?
    Can you please pin point me to the latest PowerPc version? :eek:
     
  4. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    So there is no video or voice ability, did i get this right?
     
  6. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
  7. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Voice and text chat still functions fine. I don't even own a webcam so I've never actually used video calling.
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    I did everything described but Skype will not connect to server, how can i check if all that i did are correct?
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    Microsoft discontinued support for the older clients a few months ago. It is possible for a hack to be applied to falsify the version number and allow it to sign on.
     
  10. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
  11. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #12
    I'm curious, what model/OS is this PowerBook?
     
  12. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    1.67 G4 / MacOSX 10.5.8
     
  13. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #14
    Odd. I had a 17" 1.67 earlier this year and it worked fine so I have no idea what would be happening.
     
  14. zoran, Oct 28, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    at step 4 you say " Add this -" what is that minus symbol about?

    has anyone used this solution? is it working?
     
  15. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #16
    If you are talking to another Mac user with Skype, I would use iChat instead. As for talking to those who don't have any other choice but Skype, support is dwindling as we speak. Read others' posts, but I wanted to mention this because iChat is far superior... if only they had iChat for Windows.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #17

    They do have an AIM client for Windows if you go that route.
     
  17. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #18
    thanx for the alternative but iChat will not work on Leopard also, or am i wrong?
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #19
    OS X Leopard includes iChat.
     
  19. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #20
    This is what i was saying about ichat not working in Leopard
     
  20. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #21
    Oh, it definitely does. iChat was introduced in around 2003 or so, way before Leopard. Macs still technically have it, although it became intertwined with 'Messages' as of Mountain Lion. MacOSX comes with iChat, and I am running it on my Leopard machine as I type this.

    ----------

    That's OS 10.6 Snow Leopard, not Leopard. Also, that must have been some sort of error/mishap. iChat wouldn't NOT work with a certain MacOSX version; it's Apple's own product for MacOSX. I have iChat on my Panther machines, Tiger machines, Leopard machines, and Snow Leopard machine. I'd really recommend it though; it was the first time anyone had ever gotten video chat, audio chat, etc. to just simply work! :) Even today, things like the AIM application have a very primitive video chatting option. Many clients today still don't even have the option because it's difficult to do. iChat implements the usefulness of AIM messaging with iChat and its awesome features. You can send images so that they appear right in the window, w/o some URL; you can share your friend's screen (and be able to control the mouse) or vice versa; you can even send files over it! Admittedly, I used to screen share with my friend so I could play Sims 3 from his computer, as he watched xD
     
  21. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #22
    I don't understand how can iChat work using my name, since i have not entered any info?
     
  22. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #23

    What do you mean? You do realize that you have a contact card in Address Book or Contacts in later versions of OS X with that information?
     
  23. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #24
    I dont think so. Where is that information in Address book cause i cant find it!
     
  24. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #25
    When you open Address Book do any contacts appear?
     

Share This Page