Skype quality over 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by psywzrd, May 1, 2009.

  1. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    For all of you that are using Skype over 3G, are you experiencing any quality issues? The initial release seemed to work well but with the last 2 updates I've noticed extremely poor quality over 3G (other person can't hear me, I can't hear them, etc.). I'm thinking about going back to the original version but I wanted to see if anyone else is having the same issues first. Anyone?
     
  2. jamesapp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #2
    i just tested out skype with my brother last night. i was over 3g with a jb iphone running 2.2.1. i could hear my brother, (he has a non jb iphone he was using wifi) he told me that i was coming in and out. we couldn't carry on a conversation. like i said i could hear him talking, and i kept saying micheal my brothers name and he told me that he could hear me coming in and out. how do you go back to an earlier version of skype i never tested the older versions. were they better? could something be fixed if they came out with another update, my brother said he has been experiencing problems with the skype app on a non jailbroken iphone.
     
  3. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for that - I'm glad it's not just me then. What you described is exactly what I experience over 3G as well. The only way that you can go back to the original (as far as I know anyway) is if you saved the original ipa file. When you update your apps in itunes on a Mac the older version of the app is placed in the Trash (that probably won't help you though since it doesn't sound like you ever had the original app). There may be another way of getting the original app but I'm not aware of it.

    I make a habit of keeping copies of important ipa files (Skype, NetShare, etc.) in a safe place. I have the original Skype app so I know that I can roll back easily and may just do so since I'm having so many problems with the newer releases.
     
  4. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #4
    It's probably your network. on my iphone on movistar's cellular network, skype works perfectly.

    Well, almost.. every now and then it refuses to work. It says I need wifi even when im ON wifi.. a quick reboot solves it (but this is getting quite annoying actually.. i don't know why this is happening)
     
  5. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #5

    I don't think it's the network because I never have these problems when I place a normal 3G call. The main problem is that the person on the other end can't seem to hear me sometimes. It's so annoying too because I really want to use Skype on all of my outgoing calls, but I can't because of this issue.
     
  6. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    Hello,
    I've just tried Skype over 3G on my 3GS and the quality totally sucks. I tried to call the "Skype Test Call" and everything was laggy .. just unusable.

    I have a perfect carrier signal.

    What about you ? Is it working for you ?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Its crappy over 3G.
    I wont even bother trying to hold a conversation unless I got a decent wifi connection.
     
  8. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #8
    Jeez - took you guys long enough to join the party;). The question now is what, if anything, can we do about it? I don't know if it's an issue with the Skype app itself, the VoIPOver 3G program or something else but it should work over 3G just like it does over wifi. The problem is that we can't complain to Skype because we aren't supposed to be using it over 3G anyway. I wonder how it works over 3G/Edge on other devices (assuming it's not limited to wifi on those devices as well).
     
  9. big samm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #9
    i can say that skype works real great here in Canada over 3G....plus the iphone 3Gs is 7.2mpbs compatible and thats what we are using here in Canada...i get about 2 to 3 mpbs all the time and i can tell you that i talked with my bro for 5 min and he could hear me well so was i...it all depends of the network speed and latency...
     
  10. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #10
    there's nothing to do. It's your cellular data network.
    I can hold perfect quality conversations for many minutes without a problem. Eventually, after 10 minutes or so, the networks sometimes seems to "clog". But if you restart the call, it's good for a while again.
     
  11. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    Of course the bandwidth/quality is important.
     
  12. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    Well I've just tried to tether via my iPhone and call with Skype and it was working better.

    But I also tried again only with the iPhone and it also works better :)
     
  13. oren1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #13
    Works well here in Canada.
    I use Skype to replace ALL my outgoing calls (Cost $3 - Unlimited US & Canada).
    Hope it helps
     
  14. iphonehk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #14
    Works ok here in HK. Had a pretty decent conversation with a friend last night for about 20mins and he did not complain about lags or anything. There were a few instances of slightly staggered responses but it was overall ok.
     
  15. Hptx2500zgreent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #15
    Had to jump in

    OK... here is my Theory.... We tried Skype and 3gvoip on my friends iphone 3gs on Telcel... this was about 2 months ago... the quality was allright but it worked... now about 2 weeks ago... same phone ... retried skype.. quality was awesome... which conviced me to get an iphone ... now i jailbroke dloaded skype ... it gives me the jailbroke warning thing on skype and it is cracky and cuts in and out. my question what version where you guys running before so i can dload that .ipa and hopefully resolve this...
     
  16. gotrees macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #16
    It's the network. Skype over 3G in Holland on T-Mobile sucks. Skype over 3G on Vodaphone in Holland works beautifully.
     
  17. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #17
    Works fine over 3G for me. But sometimes the speech delay is far more noticeable than other times. Never had voice quality issues yet.
     

Share This Page