Skype, talking over the internet

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iamjustin, Sep 18, 2007.

  1. iamjustin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    i am in university and i have a mbp that i have recently purchased during the summer. my family back home uses all windows. i was wondering if there is sometrhing like skype that would allow us to communicate over the internet. i know skype is free to download but after the first 10 minutes, it costs very little but i would rather not have to go tthrough the hastle of billing and filling in credit card information, is tehre any other alternate 100% free method? thanks
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    Computer-to-computer Skype conversations don't cost a thing. It's only when a real phone is involved that they charge fees.
     
  3. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #3
    and it does video if your mate has a webcam !
     
  4. D4F Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #4
    Anybody know where to find a app that will let me run video conference with skype?
    Current version allows only 2 users with video on.
    cheers
     
  5. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    Apart from ichat I dont think any other software would allow you to do multiple video conferencing.
     
  6. D4F Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #6
    It doesn't connect with AIM and most of my friends use PC at this point.
    Informs about a error and that it will send it to Apple. But there is no way to create a vide between iChat and AIM for me.

    Any fix for that?

    Thx
     
  7. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #7
    Hate to bust your bubble...but I'm in the same situation (I use iChat, family on Windows uses AIM) and it works for me. I can do one way video where they can see me and two way video where we see each other. You may want to post your error so some of the smarter people here can diagnose.
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    AIM version 5.5 and up (not Triton) is made to work with iChat for audio and video.
     
  9. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #9
    See if your AIM is up to date. Or just post the error so we can have a look at it. Try out skype if your calling computer to computer I dont think you will have a better option.
     
  10. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #10
    I use a skype phone and pay 29.00 a year for all outgoing calls :)
     
  11. carizma22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    Sound breaking up on Skype

    Hi:
    I have an 867 MHZ titanium Powerbook running Tiger, and DSL. I have just begun using Skype. The sound however breaks up a lot. Is this something to do with the hardware, the amouint of space I have on my hard drive or maybe the speed of my Internet connection? I have searched the Internet for an answer but have not found anything very helpful.

    Carole
     
  12. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #12
    its probably because of the speed of your internet
     

Share This Page