Skype update is out

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by psywzrd, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    There's an update out for the Skype app. Anyone install it yet? I don't want to install it yet because I'm not sure if it will continue to work over 3G on my jailbroken iphone. I don't see a list of what changes they made. Anyone know?
     
  2. javaGuru macrumors 6502a

    javaGuru

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #2
    Does anyone know if this update disables the ability to use skype over a 3G connection with iPhone OS 3.0 beta? I don't want to install it until I know I can still use it over a 3G connection.
     
  3. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    if it does disable it - you could always use Fring, right?
     
  4. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #4
    anyone saw this message...when u first open skype it will show something like "skype is only supported on an unmodified 2.2 firmware". fyi, my phone is jailbroken.
     
  5. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    yeh i got that message as well, but everything still works fine over 3G?! backed up the old version anyways just in case i need to put it back on....
     
  6. Digipimp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    i turned wifi off and just made a call over edge and now it adds the +1 to the numbers when you dial from contacts on your phone
     
  7. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #7
    Do you see this message every single time you open the program or just the first time you open it after the update? Also, any other fixes other than adding the 1 after the +? That's a welcome fix but I'm wondering if there are any other ones as well.
     
  8. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #8
    skype 1.0.3 is out and i haven't been able to make any calls over 3g yet. hopefully that's just me...

    has anybody else dared to update yet?

    Fabian

    EDIT: Nevermind, a reboot fixed that problem for me. :)
     
  9. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #9

    Did they fix the problem where the Skype app sometimes doesn't recognize your wifi connection and tells you that you need to be on wifi in order to make a call? Any quality issues over 3G?
     
  10. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #10
    Hi there,
    Haven't had a chance to do much testing yet, so can't really comment on 3G voice quality.

    The wifi problem hasn't come up for me recently, are you still getting it?

    Fabian
     
  11. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #11
    I haven't had the wifi issue come up for me either but I really haven't been using Skype that much lately because of the poor quality over 3G. I think I'm going to roll back to the original version since that seemed to be the best one as far as 3G quality.
     

Share This Page