Skype

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jimfastcar, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. jimfastcar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    #1
    Please be forewarned that I am not a member of the new, Tech generation, so if this is a stupid question, I apologize
    I have a new iTouch, 3rd Generation and have installed Skype.
    Say I am in Europe (live in Canada), can I call a number in North America via this Skype / Internet connection ?
    All I would have to purchase would be a headset with microphone ? (basic one would work just as well for my purposes ?

    Thanks for your clarification:eek:
     
  2. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #2
    Yes. If you can get on the Internet and the signal is fairly strong/robust, then Skype really doesn't care about where you are vs. where you're calling, other than rates adjust for Skype calls to landlines (instead of calling Skype to Skype). You can check rates from where you are to where you want to call on the Skype site. But if you are connecting to someone also running Skype (so you're not calling them on their home phone), it will cost nothing.
     
  3. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #3
    Exactly! You can call North America from Europe or elsewhere in the same manner as making a skype call locally.

    If you have the latest generation of ipod touch as you say (3rd gen), it will have come with a mic built into the headphones. You don't need to buy anything else.
     
  4. kunal123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Dehradun,India
    #4
    I do not think the 3rd gen has a mic. Correct me if I am wrong.
     
  5. jimfastcar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
  6. timtrax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    #6
    8 32 64

    The 8 gig has no mic. (though Apple and others sell 'ear buds with mic') The 32 + 64 do.
     
  7. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #7
    Yes, as the previous poster said. I have the 32 and the 64 also comes with a mic.
     
  8. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #8
    Exactly. Skype to Skype is free and you pay (very little) if you use Skype to call a landline. At present, I'm in the Caucasus, and I use Skype most evenings to call Skype accounts and landlines in western Europe. It is very easy to use and exceedingly reasonable. Mic and headphones are better than talking to the screen - I got a good quality Logitech set. However, the quality of the calls can vary (depending on the quality and stability of the internet connection).

    Cheers and good luck
     

Share This Page