Skyrim on my Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adamvk, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. adamvk macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    Now that Skyrim is officially out and people are playing it on Mac via bootcamp, do you think my Macbook Pro would be able to play Skyrim?

    Specs are:

    15" @ 1440x900
    Core i5 2.53GHZ
    8GB DDR3
    330GT 256MB

    Do you think I'd be able to play at native res, possibly even with AA on?

    Thanks
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    on low, probably. Unfortunately, the min specs require at least 512 of vram, but on all low you might be ok. The speed of the video card should be enough, though, to run it. So, you're going to want all the textures to be on the lowest possible setting.
     
  3. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Hmm. Ok. I might try it. Supposedly the new Macbook Airs run it fine so I should be Ok.
     
  4. sixteen12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #4
    Should be fine. The Skyrim engine scales really well.

    Plays on my sisters HP with a AMD x2 1.5GHZ and 256 dedicated card...mind you the laptop lights your leg on fire during.
     
  5. ortegacarlton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    #5
    Is that a 2010 MBP? Pre-Sandybridge i5s?

    If not, your sandybridge should come pre-set with the HD 3000, but the HD 3000 isn't the greatest: might be on par with your 330gt.
     
  6. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    It's pre-sandybridge but it's a 15", so it has a HD 3000 AND a GT 330M GT w/ 256MB of ram.
     
  7. PaulyD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    My 13" 2010 MBP runs it fine, got the 320m overclocked to 585/1235 (max in afterburner)

    I run it on low and get a playable framerate so should be fine on your 330m on the same or slightly higher settings
     
  8. JazzyFizzle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #8
    You'll be fine if you run it in bootcamp. Update your graphics drivers and you'll run it on low/medium.
     
  9. Gurutech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #9
    My Windows laptop with i5-430, nVidia 310m runs Skyrim in medium.
    Of course, the game runs with AA off. And the native resolution of my windows laptop is 1366*768 or something like that, so it has slightly lower resolution than yours.
    But the difference in graphic should be more than enough to run Skyrim at high setting I think.

    Skyrim is not that graphic intensive unless you start to custom tweak the setting.
     
  10. frozencarbonite macrumors 6502

    frozencarbonite

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #10
    This issue is why I stopped gaming on PCs and Macs. Too much worrying whether the latest game out will run on my machine and too expensive to keep up with the latest hardware. It's nice to just put a game in a console and play. The only computer gaming I do now is older games that have been out for years.
     
  11. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    I wouldnt say its impossible to play.
    But probably not on high settings.
     
  12. JazzyFizzle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #12
    I couldn't disagree more. All you have to do is make sure your pc /mac is as powerful if not more than the current gen console. I got my pc 3 years ago and can still play all modern games full, including bf3. That cost me around £500 at the time.
     
  13. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    Yea, I'm just not much of a fan of console gaming. I'd much rather prefer a mouse and keyboard. I feel more involved with a mouse/keyboard. Plus computer graphics look better in most cases. :)
     
  14. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #14
    VRAM doesn't equal GPU power. I'm running Skyrim on high with the 330m.

    I'm not a hardcore gamer, i'm now only when you're out of the first dungeon when you're going to village. It runs with no problem at all.
     
  15. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Skyrim Awesomeness!

    The game is great! and it runs very well on my MBP :D
    GPU OC'ed to: 800/900 @ 0.960v
    CPU Throttled @ 2.2Ghz
    11.11 Drivers

    Game Settings:
    Native Resolution: 1440x900
    AA: off
    AF: 16x
    FXAA: on
    Texture quality: High
    Radial: Medium
    Shadows: Low
    water reflections: off
    View Distance: all set to max except Distant objects: High

    the framerates are totally acceptable at 40-60fps, but howers around 60 most of the time :D so there really are no excuses not to play this awesome game with the current MBP's Radeon's with 1GB vram :p
     

Share This Page