SL does not detect display on launch

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jive turkey, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. jive turkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #1
    I use two monitors: an Apple Cinema display and a Dell, which is display number 2. I installed SL and it was normal until I rebooted the first time. Now every time I boot up, the only display that is found is the Dell and I have to go into preferences and select "detect displays" to make the main one show up. It loads as if the Dell is the only display, and since it is smaller it messes up my desktop, lumping all my icons on top of each other. When I click "detect displays," it moves everything back to the Apple monitor, making it the main display as it should be, but it is all out of whack.

    Any thoughts on what my be the problem? Thanks!
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    Some articles on Apple support website indicate that the PRAM stores some display settings, maybe something in there is telling it to default to the DVI port which the Dell monitor is connected to? Try resetting PRAM with just the Cinema display connected, then re-connect the Dell after the reset, configure to your liking, then restart the computer and test.
     
  3. jive turkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #3
    Thank you for the suggestion. I will try that tonight. I appreciate it!
     
  4. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
  5. jive turkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #5
    I finally tracked it down. I had a my desktop set to change the wallpaper every day, and when this option is enabled it doesn't find the main screen. If I disable the rotate wallpaper function, everything seems to work as normal.
     

Share This Page