SL UI Issue (Why does it look different?)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Jelite, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. Jelite macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Pic from web.

    [​IMG]

    My Computer.

    [​IMG]

    I thought something had changed a while back but never bothered to check, what's wrong here? The top bar is lighter and there's lines through everything, didnt Tiger used to look like that?:confused:
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Is System Preferences actually selected or did you click on the Desktop or anywhere else outside the SP window to make it inactive?

    Because that would explain the look. Except the stripes though.

    Have you installed any themes or other UI changing hacks or applications?
     
  3. Jelite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    No the window is selected, look at the traffic lights, when it's not selected the top bar also has the stripes.

    i installed a system cleaner like Onyx but cant for the life of me remember what it was called, maybe that had UI options.
     
  4. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Are you positive you are running Snow Leopard 10.6.x? What does "About this Mac" show as the version?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Ah, I was blind, but now that I can see, I don't really have an answer.

    The signature says 13" MBP, which weren't around one year or even four years ago.

    Btw, Tiger System Preferences look like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    13" MBP shipped with Leopard. The chances for such a modification would be higher in 10.5 giving the amount of time the theming community had.

    That said, they still may be running some theme on 10.6. Maybe they bought it used and the person had it on there. Who knows.

    Meaning she could be running Leopard. At no point in time did it cross my mind that she was running 10.4. Don't insult me.
     
  7. Jelite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    At what point did i become a she? :D

    It's SL, you can tell by the energy saver bulb, i remembered the program i installed was Secrets which has a make everything metal option, that's the only thing i could have changed. I've not used any themes or mods. I tried reinstalling it and turning the option on and off but it just goes back to that stripey nonsense.
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Yep, I was on my way to insult you. But seems I have failed. Poor me. :rolleyes:
     
  9. mrchinchilla macrumors 6502

    mrchinchilla

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #9
    Open Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app) and copy&paste this:
    Code:
    defaults write -g AppleUseCoreUI -bool YES && defaults write NSGlobalDomain NSUseLeopardWindowValues YES && killall Finder
    
    Then hit return.
     
  10. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #10
    This.
     
  11. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #11
    Go to your Universal Access prefs in System Preferences and make sure that the "Enhance Contrast" slider is all the way down.

    It's probably not the answer but it's worth a shot.
     
  12. Jelite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Yes!! That fixed it, thank you, you sir win a thousand internets. :D
     

Share This Page