Sleep & Handbrake

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mindcrash, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. mindcrash macrumors member

    mindcrash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #1
    OK, so I accidentally put my MacBook into sleep mode without first pausing Handbrake.

    Does this mean I totally screwed up my encode?
     
  2. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #2
    You'll have stopped the Encode and it will resume when you come out of sleep mode, but you shouldn't have 'totally screwed it'
     
  3. mindcrash thread starter macrumors member

    mindcrash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #3
    So it essentially just paused it, like the actual pause button in Handbrake?
     
  4. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #4
    As far as I'm aware, yes. :)
     
  5. mindcrash thread starter macrumors member

    mindcrash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #5
    Ok, thanks for the help. I'm hoping you're right because I hate doing stuff over ;)
     
  6. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #6
    The encode process will start up again, don't worry. This has happened to me before when I forgot to set the computer to never go to sleep. I'd wake up the next morning and see that my Mac had gone to sleep and Handbrake was still muxing (for some reason, the computer wouldn't register as being used when muxing). It would finish and the file would play fine.
     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Just a note: HandBrake does not play nice with energy saver settings that tell the computer to put the hard disks to sleep when not needed. The comment about muxing is correct. The mac will go to sleep on its own during HandBrake's muxing phase. Other than putting your screen to sleep nothing should be set to sleep when using HB, it uses all of the resources it can get.

    There is a "Put computer to sleep when encoding is finished" setting in HB's preferences you can use though which will put it to sleep *after* the encode is finished.
     
  8. mindcrash thread starter macrumors member

    mindcrash

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #8
    Well, at this rate, I'll never be done encoding, so I'll probably never need to use that feature.
     

Share This Page