Sleep mode - torrents (MBA)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DJTaurus, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. DJTaurus macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #1
    In my mac mini when mac was on sleep mode it continued to download torrents (transmission)

    Now i got a macbook air and when i close the screen it stops downloading torrents.. is there a solution to continue download torrents until finished and then get to sleep mode?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I believe the program caffeine will prevent your mac from going into sleep mode.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Your Mac mini did not go to sleep, the display just shut off.
    As noted by maflynn, Caffeine will help your Mac from going to sleep, as a sleeping Mac has only its RAM powered and is not capable of doing any downloads via torrents.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Personally I wouldn't close the screen either, the cooling is much better with it open and you'll not forget that its running and stuff it in your backpack or case and cook the laptop to death
     
  5. DJTaurus thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #5
    Why do you use caffeine?

    It has an option for prevent computer for sleeping when display is off.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I don't use it, I just offered something that will solve your problem. :)
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Yes, it prevents a Mac from actually going to sleep, and closing the lid will make your Mac go to sleep.
     
  8. DJTaurus thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #8
    Also whats the point to use coconut battery ?

    I ve got the haswell model. No worries about temperatures. I live in greece which is very hot and MBA rarely gets hot... i would say the chassis is most of the time cold.... amazing.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    The point to coconut battery is to obsess about battery capacity and health and cycles.
     
  10. DJTaurus thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #10
    Also increases resale value if you know ur battery cycles :p
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    But one does not need Coconut for that, System Profiler / System Information will give you that info quite as well.
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    No it doesn't. 99.99% percent of the consumers have no idea or could care less of battery cycles.
     

Share This Page