Sleep Mode?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by VideoBeagle, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
    This is gonna sound kinda dumb...does the iPad have a sleep mode?

    When it auto locks, does it go to sleep? Or when you manually lock it by pressing the power button?


    I ask because it seems like the power on mine runs down even when it's locked...is that normal?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    When it auto-locks, it goes into sleep mode. When you click the power button, it goes into sleep mode.

    Yes, some power will still be used in sleep mode.
     
  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3

    Thanks. I'll have to do some tests or something to see how much power is going in reality vs what it just appears to me.
     
  4. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #4
    To minimize power drain, turn off wifi, cellular data, Bluetooth, set mail to fetch manually, and check all your apps to make sure you don't have any apps trying to fetch or push data in the.background.
     
  5. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #5
    Thanks for the reply!
    Maybe this weekend I'll take some time and do some tests to see how it all goes!
     
  6. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I have everything but Blutooth on and drain about 1% over 20 hours or so in sleep. I must say though that when I had We Rule installed, I drained about 10%/hr in sleep mode due to 100's of push notifications (ya I had a lot *LOT* of friends there lol).
     
  7. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #7
    Is there a way to see what has push notifications on?
    I've been sampling lots of free apps and have been pretty indiscriminate on the whole "this app would like to push" thing...lots of stuff I need to delete too..;)
     
  8. blackNBUK macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    There is a list in the Settings app; you can also set which types of notifications you want there too.
     
  9. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #9
    Awesome! thanks!
     

Share This Page