Sleep problems--do I need to go back to Apple?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jvencius, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. jvencius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I've got a standard-config MBP (2.2 Ghz) and ever since new (bought it from an Apple retail store on 8/12) I've been having problems with sleep. I ran a couple searches but didn't find anything in the results that would help me so I have to start a new thread. The problems are as follows:

    (1) I can't manually put the machine to sleep, either through the blue :apple: menu or through the keyboard shortcut.

    (2) If the machine goes to sleep automatically w/o an app running, I can't wake it up my any means.

    (3) If the machine goes to sleep when I have an app running (iTunes most of the time) sometimes it'll wake up, sometimes it won't.

    (4) It doesn't matter whether I'm on the AC supply or on battery--behavior is the same either way.

    (5) I've tried any number of setting combinations under Energy Saver in System Preferences but none of them made a difference.

    What I've tried to fix it:
    (1) While on the phone with tech support, I reset the PRAM, ran Disk Utility, and did some other diagnostic (can't remember what it was--sorry...) but that didn't fix it.

    (2) Since then, I've reset the PRAM again but that didn't help.


    Since I'm pretty much by myself (nearest Apple store is 1:45 away), I could appreciate some guidance on what else to try. Thanks in advance for any help.:confused:
     
  2. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #2
    Archive and install, see if it works, then take it in.
     
  3. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    It is probably the logic board. This used to happen with G4 Powerbooks, including mine. Bring/send it in - they should replace the board for you.
     
  4. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    sure, but before going through all of that, do what itoaster said and backup everything and reinstall osx, i currently have an install of windows that dosent sleep right, sometimes it will some times it woulnt, wasent a problem until my last reinstall, thats just the way it goes, sometimes files just arent copied right when installed.
     
  5. jvencius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    I've got everything already backed up (bootable copy of my internal HD onto an external HD and DVD's of my iTunes library/photos/movies in a fireproof media safe) so that's no big deal, but how do I go about reinstalling OSX? Is it as simple as inserting the OSX install disc #1 and then following the on-screen prompts or is it more involved than that?:(
     
  6. jvencius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #6
    I'm not sure if this matters or not, but I'm running 10.4.10 with all applicable updates.
     
  7. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    yes actually it is a simple as that :D while you are in there, pick customize itll be a bubble on the left hand side bottom corner of the install windows, (second step i think) and uncheck all of the language translations, itll free you up about 2gig of space

    just to be sure, put the disk in first, and go to the boot drive options thingy in the system prefrences and tell it you want to boot from the DVD and then restart
     
  8. jvencius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    I just got off the phone with Apple tech support (again) and the Product Specialist I spoke with had me run a few more diagnostics which determined that it is a hardware issue and so on Thursday I'm going back to the Apple retail store to get a whole new machine. Since I'm well within the 14 day window, he said that it shouldn't be a problem just to get a whole new machine and who knows, maybe I'll get an LG panel in the new 'puter (my current machine has a Samsung panel). It's a bit of a drive to the nearest Apple store (Boulder, CO) but I don't mind the trip and it is pretty scenery so at least I'll have something to look at.
     
  9. Natalia81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #9
    Do you remember the steps you took for these diagnostics? I'm have some sleep issues too.
     
  10. jvencius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10
    Nope--sorry.
     

Share This Page