Sloooooow burn speeds with philips DL DVDs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bozz2006, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    Has anyone else experienced super slow burn times with philips DL DVDs? With Toast, the burn speed goes between 2x and 3x, even though they say they're supposed to burn at 8x. I had Memorex DL DVDs previously, and they burned at 8x to 10x.... Kinda peeved, hoping there's a way to speed up the process.
     
  2. shroud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #2
    I only use Taiyo Yuden (beware of fakes), Sony, and Verbatim. Way to many issues otherwise. I believe there are ways to force the drive to write faster or flash the firmware to recognize the media code of the DL DVD from philips but I wouldn't do it because the quality on philips optical media is poor enough.

    seriously though, I'd stick with the three companies I mentioned above. I have researched the best places to get optical discs like crazy (even looking at batch numbers and manufacturing facilities) and optical media is one area where you still get what you pay for.
     
  3. bozz2006 thread starter macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #3
    I'll definitely take that into consideration for future purchases. But, why would these discs burn at a max of 2x (Toast won't give you the option to burn at a higher speed with these philips discs) when they are marketed as 8x?
     
  4. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    The drive is only seeing them at 2x and they are labeled wrong or you have an older version of Toast that doesn't see DL DVD over 2x...
     
  5. bozz2006 thread starter macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    it's not the latter, as the memorex DL DVDs I had before this all burned at 8-10x.
     
  6. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    A firmware update could perhaps fix the problem. After a firmware update of the drive in my Mac Pro (AD-7170A IIRC) I was finally able to burn medias of a brand which I couldn't before...
     
  7. bozz2006 thread starter macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    any idea where I could check for and apply said firmware?
     
  8. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    1. Check the Firmware version in the system profiler. The newest firmware for the AD-7170A is numbered 1.NC.

    2. If you see 1.N7, 1.N8 or similar, go to http://liggydee.cdfreaks.com/page/en/Optiarc-AD-7170A/ and download the 1.NC firmware. You can choose the original one or the modified, zone-free RPC1 version

    3. Download necflash for OS X at http://binflash.cdfreaks.com/ and read the instructions how to flash your drive

    That's it.
     
  9. bozz2006 thread starter macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    [​IMG]
    Here's what I've got. This is on a 2006 Mac Pro.
     
  10. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #10
    Here's me:

    Code:
    [B]PIONEER DVD-RW  DVR-116L:[/B]
    
      Firmware Revision:	1.06
      Interconnect:		ATAPI
      Burn Support:		Yes (Generic Drive Support)
      Profile Path:		None
      Cache:		2000 KB
      Reads DVD:		Yes
      CD-Write:		-R, -RW
      DVD-Write:		-R, -R DL, -RAM, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
      Write Strategies:	CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO
      Media:		Insert media and refresh to show available burn speeds
    Also on a 2006 2.66. :)

    I have no idea about DL speeds tho. I looked at DL media once and thought: How frigging crazy is that?!?! :p
     
  11. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #11
    OK, you have a different drive than I have (Pioneer vs. Optiarc), therefore an eventual firmware update cannot be done using my instructions...
     
  12. bozz2006 thread starter macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota

Share This Page