Sloooooow wifi on iPhone and iPad

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by karilynn, Aug 21, 2014.

1. karilynn macrumors regular

karilynn

Ok, I am really stumped about this and I'm not sure if I am posting this in the correct place, so forgive me if I am not.

At any given moment in time, when I run a speedtest on my laptop (macbook pro) I get a lovely 20-25MBPS speed. When I run a speedtest on my iPhone or iPad? Lucky if I get over 1MBPS. So what is the deal here? I am not very technically savvy and I have no idea why this is happening. My ISP is centurylink (yes, total crap, but it's the only ISP allowed in my apartment building) and I've had centurylink for about 4 months and this issue has been happening only for the past week. I couldn't begin to fathom why. I didn't change any router settings. I've reset both my iPhone and iPad. I've reset the router. The router/modem is the all-in-one actiontech modem given to me by centurylink.

Does anybody have any ideas, any settings I can change on my iPad or iPhone (iPhone 5S and iPad air) or any suggestions with the ISP/modem? Would truly appreciate it. Nothing makes me happier than crawling into bed at night with my iPad and watching HBOGO and I can't do it anymore because HBOGO won't load.

thank you!!

2. rockitdog macrumors 68020

Hey, I also live in Minnesota (Rosemount to be exact). From what I've heard from other CentryLink customers, what your experiencing is pretty common. Their speeds are terrible. My in-laws live in Eagan and have CentryLink and get pathetic speeds too. They are awful. Wish I had a better explanation.

3. dcharleyultra macrumors 6502

Sloooooow wifi on iPhone and iPad

Karyilynn, what did your iDevice speeds used to be?

Have you contacted CenturyLink Tech Support?

What's your modem model number?

Do you have friends in the building that will let you determine your speeds on their wifi?

4. I7guy macrumors G5