Slow boot up on Yosemite :(

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Muscleflex, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. Muscleflex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #1
    Help please.
    I decided to upgrade my macbook pro to Yosemite yesterday. But now, when I switch it on, I get the progress bar which I never got when I had the previous OS.
    My laptop spec:
    13" i5 mid 2012 (bought Dec 2013)
    2.5ghz
    4Gb ram
    Crucial M500 240Gb SSD

    I have read that Trim is now not supported - do I need this and how can I enable it or how can I speed up the boot up time please?

    Video of my laptop booting up:
    http://youtu.be/1gmYdlvoNLM?list=UUN1AmlQz2m_r9ufBdKdQbvQ
     
  2. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    Are you joking? You machine boots in less than 20 seconds after the power button press. Of that, 6 seconds is the firmware pre-test, so the actual boot up takes around 14-15 seconds. If this is slow, then I don't know what is supposed to be fast.

    The progress bar is a new thing in Yosemite. Your boot up did not get slower simply because you see a progress bar. Whether you wait 10 seconds with a black screen, or look the same 10 seconds on a progress bar, does not make any difference in the boot speed.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Looks ok to me. As mentioned the progress bar is new to 10.10, but the speed of the book up is fine.
     
  4. Muscleflex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #4
    Thank you and apologies.. I just thought it felt slower than on Mavericks.
    Do I need to worry about not having Trim?
     
  5. solsearchin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #5
    Seems about right for the M500. What kind of R/W speeds are you getting on that drive, just curious. ( use black magic to test ).
     
  6. Muscleflex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #6
    Thanks - I'm downloading the app now and will post back on here after I've done the test.

    ----------

    Ok which part of BLACKMAGIC do I need to look at?
    It just keeps testing and I dont know which part of it is being tested as there's no highlight on the rows..
    but it looks to be around:
    266 FOR WRITE NTSC
    543 FOR READ NTSC
    but it's not finished yet and it keeps changing...
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    Just read the two big dials and post back.

    This is from my 13" rMBP with 512GB SM0512F PCIe SSD.

    When the readings are almost constant (about ±20 MB/s for each), then post back.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Muscleflex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #8
    Ok - big dials:
    253 FOR WRITE
    483.8 FOR READ

    normal or slow?
    edit: i've just seen your screenshot... DAMN!!!!!!!!! i want that speed too!!!!

    on another note... you HAVE a canon 1dc?????? damn!!!!!!!! i'm jealous!!!
     
  9. nerowolfe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #9
    Yosemite is slower by like a second or two compared to Mavericks (doing a complete shutdown and restarting on a clean installed OS)

    That said, your boot time is comparable to what I experience using my 2012 rMBP 2.6 8GB. Pretty certain the progress bar kinda gives the illusion that it's much slower than Mavericks.
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    The speeds are normal for PCIe SSDs in Haswell Macs :)

    For your speeds, it seems to be a slow on the write side, but probably because it's a SandForce controller. Those speeds are normal for SandForce.

    And yes, I have a EOS-1Dc and Arri Alexa, I do a lot of videography as a hobby and a job that pays pretty well :)
     
  11. Muscleflex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #11
    Managed to shave off 2 seconds to 15seconds for my bootup by doing a fresh install of Yosemite and deleting everything on the laptop.

    Impressive cameras, yjchua95! I still have my Canon 1D III that was given to me by my wife. Need to upgrade it soon to a 1DX (Can't afford a 1Dc I don't think)
     
  12. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    Unless you do 4K videography (which I do all the time, along with 2K on my Alexa), the 1Dx is identical to the 1Dc (except for 4K).

    I know that the 1D Mk3 has notorious AF issues. That said, it's still a very impressive camera if you don't really do stuff that requires AI Servo all the time.

    My previous camera was an old EOS-1D Mk2N, which is even older than your one. It's still working like a champ, but because of my 4K needs, I had to go get the 1Dc.

    But to be honest, if the 5D line could do 4K, I would've gone with a 5D in a heartbeat. The 1D line is really cumbersome and heavy.

    I'd highly recommend that you wait for the 5D Mk4 and see whether that incorporates 4K or not. Otherwise, the 5D Mk3 is also another superb camera (it shares the same AF system as the 1Dx).
     
  13. Yoshi Yogurt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #13
    The progress bar is ridiculous and doubles the start up time.

    Mavericks had a maybe 10 second start up time and Yosemite doubled that for whatever reason...
     
  14. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

    JHUFrank

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #14
    In 5 years we will be complaining that the new Escondido boots slower than Redwood, and it will be a scandalous 2 second boot compared to 1 second. Guys, it's 15 seconds! Holy Smokes! I am going to confiscate everyone's computer, and hand out some 1992 era 386s that took minutes to boot.
     

Share This Page