Slow downs, crashes, and shut-down stuckness, oh my...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ghall, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Lately I've been experiencing slow downs, crashes, non-responsive apps and sometimes when I shut down my computer it gets stuck at the little twirly loading thing over my desktop image. I've repaired permissions, checked the disk, everything, and I'm still getting these problems.

    I've installed the following apps recently:
    DropBox
    Microsoft Office 2008
    Tooble
    Flash Player 10 Beta
    Safari 4 Developer Preview
    Disk Inventory X
     
  2. marbles macrumors 68000

    marbles

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    EU mostly
  3. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    i agree, sounds you ram is faulty. check the ram sticks individually and make a backup if you can. it could be that the ram starts writing garbage to your hd and you lose data.
     
  4. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    I just ran a test on my RAM and it's fine. I can't physically check it right now, but if the test comes out positive then there shouldn't be a problem right?
     
  5. marbles macrumors 68000

    marbles

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    EU mostly
    #5
    No , sometimes these things don't show in the test .

    Take out the RAM , re-seat it then start up your Mac .

    :eek: -how did you manage to run the test yet you cannot physically check the RAM ?
     
  6. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    I'll give that a shot when I get the proper tools.

    Um...you don't need to.
     
  7. jmre5150 macrumors member

    jmre5150

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Levittown, PA
    #7
    You can boot up with the install disc (disc 1) and hold down T (I believe, might be D). This will bring up a 2 minute test of the RAM.

    But as mentioned about, it still might be something physical with the RAM that the test isnt picking up.
     
  8. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    The RAM seems fine. I quit DropBox and Quicksilver took them out of my startup items and restarted. That seemed to have worked, according to activity monitor, they were both using over 800MB of virtual memory.

    That's a lot right?
     
  9. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #9
    Known bug

    You're very likely running in to the 10.5.3 hang bug. Wait for 10.5.4, downgrade to 10.5.2, or see if Apple has any work-around by calling them.
     

Share This Page