Slow Leopard 32bit, 64bit?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vpkb1998, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. vpkb1998 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #1
  2. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #2
    So you're saying Apple has been hyping 64-bit for the last six years? No way!
     
  3. vpkb1998 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    I guess, I'm not the pro here, just passing along information. Nevertheless, SL is running better than Leopard.
     
  4. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    How do I know if my macbrook pro is 64 bit ready?

    I have a 15" late 2008:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    Don't know much about this, but want to make sure that I will be able to take advantage of the apps that will be in 64 bit with SL
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    The entire Unibody MacBook Pro line would be 64-bit kernel ready. But to be honest, you can run 64-bit even on Leopard as shown in this screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Snakehn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    lol. I just noticed that haha. "Slow"
     

Share This Page