Slow loading an image in Aperture!!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by oldnslow, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. oldnslow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    #1
    i use Aperture for keywording my Raw images and when i move to the next image i get the words "loading image" and it takes about 5 to 6 seconds for the loading image to go away. The new camera is a 24mp were the older camera was a 12mp sensor. I know i can use the quick preview to scroll thru images, without the loading issue, therefore my question is: what do i need to do remedy this?

    2010 imac 2.8 i5 12gb ram 1tb ssd

    David
     
  2. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Think we've found the problem here.
     
  3. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    • Newer more powerful iMac.
    • Move off Aperture to Lightroom, Capture One Pro, or other DAM with non-destructive editing. Apple abandoned Aperture and you should also.
     
  4. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #4
    I agree with both of these steps, though your iMac is pretty decent with adequate RAM and an SSD. I assume that you are browsing images that are on the SSD and not images on a slower external drive or, worse yet, the camera's memory card.

    Upgrading from the antique, abandoned Aperture to a viable DAM that is continuing to be developed and supported is a good idea, period.I'd recommend doing this a step #1.

    Upgrading the older iMac will help somewhat, but disk speed and RAM are the most important attributes, but I'd first test the newer DAM on your old iMac to see if an upgrade is really needed at this time. A newer processor and motherboard components (memory buss, video controller, ...) will help only moderately. I you are using images stored on an external drive rather than the internal SSD then a new iMac can offer significant improvement if, and only if, you also upgrade your external drive to either a USB3 or, better yet, a Thunderbolt interfaced SSD.
     

Share This Page