** Slow Mac... DW4 reports malfunctions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by soliton, May 14, 2010.

1. soliton macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can answer my questions. Here's my story.

(Stats: Original Quad Core Mac (2 x 2.66 Intel Xeon) - 9 GB RAM - SL 10.6.3)

My Mac has been running very, very slowly lately. Spinning beach ball for 45 seconds for no reason and then everything will happen at once. Copying a 25 MB file can take 1 minute. Starting up used to take 25 seconds, now it's 4 minutes. It seems to come and go a bit.

I've been using Macs for 15 years and I did everything I could think of. Disc Utility. Observing Activity Monitor. Trashing prefs. Zapped PRAM. One of those helped a little, because it's not as bad but still slow at times. * One thing to note, I made a new account. It was really fast. Just like a new install.

I booted up from DiskWarrior4, when checking my main startup disk, there were around 50 something "disk malfunctions" and I could not replace the directory. The only option it gave was to back stuff up. But on the contrary, DW4 hardware test said that it's SMART status was OK / verified.

MY OPTIONS… What should I do?

1) Backup everything, but do nothing and hope it speeds up. (It's getting a little better since I cleaned it out) I use Pro Tools and Logic and it would take a long time to reinstall everything.

2) Back up everything, erase the hard drive, and reinstall the OS **on this same drive.** I'm actually broke right now and do not want to buy another hard drive. Would this be stupid because DW4 reported a hardware error and I'd just be getting in the same mess down the road?

3) Back up everything, buy a new hard drive, start clean. This is probably the safest option, but I really only want to re install everything if I have absolutely have to.

Is there any chance that DW is reporting incorrectly, that it isn't a hardware error? It's a new-ish Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 7000 RPM.

Would do you think?