Slow network speed on tvOS 11.4

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by hobspain, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. hobspain macrumors regular

    hobspain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #1
    Since my AppleTV 4th gen upgraded itself to tvOS 11.4 (overriding my setting of no automatic updates) I am having a very noticeable issue of network speed through wifi. Executing the Speedtest app in my phone and on the AppleTV I get aproximately half on AppleTV of what I get on the phone. Distance to the router is the same in both devices.

    Has anyone else had this situation? I’m considering downgrading the FW but not sure it is possible.
     
  2. CaptMarvel macrumors 65816

    CaptMarvel

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    I too have noticed this.

    I normally have my Apple TV on a WiFi connection using 5GHz settings and things used to be smooth as far as picture quality, now everything is choppy and has loading times as if I was on vintage AOL dial up lol.

    Contemplating wired connection however my Apple TV is quite a distance from my router setup.

    Any suggestions?
     
  3. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #3
    My Wifi performance hasn't changed with the 11.4 update. Have you tried rebooting and, if that fails, resetting the network settings?
     
  4. hobspain thread starter macrumors regular

    hobspain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the suggestions. I did reboot it but no changes. About network settings I haven’t seen the way to just reset the network settings . I’ve only found system->Reset to reset to factory settings but I don’t want to loose my Apple ID credentials and other configurations.
    Also to give more information, I’m in the 2.4 GHz band
     
  5. BlankStar macrumors 6502

    BlankStar

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    after a full reset, you can do the setup with your iPhone or iPad and it'll get all credentials it needs without you entering a thing. And "other configurations", won't take you that much time, it's not that you can customize a lot :)
     
  6. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    Oops, you're right, that option only exists on iOS. Setting up the Apple ID and Wifi passwords is pretty painless after a full reset since you can transfer them from your phone, but if you have many other apps it can be a pain to log back in on each of them etc., so I understand why you want to avoid it.
    Given that your phone still gets the old speed at the same location, it seems unlikely that there is interference or some other problem with your Wifi network.
     
  7. jdag macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #7
    I noticed this last evening while trying to watch a movie via Plex. I've been using the AppleTV + Plex for ages, and this was the 1st time I've ever rec'd a warning that the network connectivity was too slow. I am on a wired network, and nothing has changed with the exception of the tvOS update last week.

    To solve this, I had to change the setting in the Plex app to essentially force transcoding of the movie. Even though I set it at a higher MB/s rate than the movie file was to begin with. I did power cycle everything (ATV, router, modem, switches). I also tried via WiFi.

    I was able to watch the same movies via my LG SmartTV's Plex app with no issues. So while I am not 100% sure that this is a tvOS issue, it sure does look that way. (Granted, could also be a Plex app issue.)
     
  8. hobspain thread starter macrumors regular

    hobspain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #8
    So I ended up doing a full reset to factory settings because in addition the network speed issue I had the "Not Playing" bug in the Music app. Fortunately both problems seem to be fixed after the full reset but it did take some time reinstalling all the apps and setting all my Apple IDs and configurations for the IR remote and all.

    In hindsight my own network configuration may have been the source of the network issues as I have three router, two of them routers sharing the same SSID and was having weird routing issues. Wouldn't say this was the cause but can't discard it either.
     

Share This Page