Slow Shutter

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Mac7, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #1
    I have a Nikon D3100, even at shutter speed of 1/200, it feels like the shutter is set at 1/8. I takes shots like it was set at 1/200 but the shutter seems slow and very loud.

    What could be the issue?
     
  2. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #2
    The pictures seem like they have a low shutter speed, or the sound is the problem?

    The mirror flapping around probably takes around 1/8 of a second and makes much more noise than the shutter.
     
  3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #3
    So if you take a photo at 1/8th of a second, then take another photo at 1/200 seconds but change nothing else, the two photos look the same?
     
  4. Mac7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    The photos will be different, but the shutter sound, sounds the same. It seems like it takes the same amount of time to take each photo.
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Take through view finder = fast
    Take picture while looking at LCD = slow
     
  6. leandroc76 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #6
    This. Reason #435,681 why live view should not be on an SLR.
     
  7. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

    MattSepeta

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    375th St. Y
    #7
    Oh please. I use liveview for plenty of professional work, and just as much personal work.

    Articulating screens? Now THOSE should stay off my dSLR.
     
  8. admwright macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    I suspect that a lot of the sound is due to moving the mirror up and down. The D3100 can only take images at 3fps. It is only when you get into shutter times of more than 3/10 sec that the time to take the image is longer than the 'mechanics' of the camera taking the picture. Or look at it another way if you take picutres at 1/1000 and 1/10 the camera still can only take three per second.

    All the best
    Andrew W.
     
  9. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    I'm guessing you are hearing the mirror flip not the shutter. Also be advised the way the shutter works is it doesn't fully open when you get above (I believe 1/200th) but it just opens a slit. This is why when you force the camera to go above a certain shutter speed and use a flash you get these black bars, those are the shutter curtains.

    I hope that made sense. I know what I'm trying to say but I've been up for about 36 hours so it may not have come out right.
     

Share This Page