Slow SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kitkats, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. kitkats macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #1
    I have had this SSD in my 4,1 MP for a few years now, as the boot drive. I'm getting pretty slow speeds from it - around 75/100 MB/s and I'm wondering why, and if there's anything I can do to improve it. I'll probably buy a Sonnet Tempo and new SSD's soon, but would like to use that for media and keep the OS on the OCZ drive.
     
  2. DanielCoffey, Dec 22, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013

    DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    Let me check my Vertex2 with BlackMagic... brb.

    EDIT : I get around 75/170 on my 120Gb Vertex2 and a little more (85/185) on my 240Gb Vertex2 because it is a bit newer.

    If you use TrimEnabler or similar tools you may be able to interrogate the SMART parameter list and see if anything stands out. It should report things like Retired Block Count which will give indications of how tired the drive is. The SSD Life Left parameter was sitting at 0 so I suspect it is not used by Trim Enabler.

    EDIT2 : I have now fitted a Rocket 640L and have two Samsung 840 PRO drives (not RAIDed) in the ODD bay where the DVD drive was sitting and I get 465/490 from them both.
     
  3. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I get just about the same on my 60gb vertex2 in my 4,1 as your 120. I gave that trim enabler a try once in it ended up with an unbootable machine the next strartup.
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    How full is it? Drives more than 75% capacity and no trim enabled will eventually slow down. Enable trim turn off energy saver and leave it for a 4-5 hours to let it tidy itself up.
     
  5. kitkats thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #5
    Hm, thanks. Perhaps the SSD never actually ran at the speeds it was supposed to.

    Daniel, do you think the Rocket 640L is a better option than the Sonnet Tempo ? I'm guessing its not quite as fast, but is probably better value. I don't especially need the easier swappability of the Sonnet, and budget is a consideration here.
     
  6. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #6
    You will need to flash the 640L before you use it or else it won't wake from sleep on the Mac side. You need a PC which can boot into DOS to do this.

    There is a beta firmware which fixes the issue but Highpoint had not released it last time I looked. If you do get the 640L then PM me and I will let you know where the Firmware is. I can't publish the link since I do not have permission from Highpoint to release it in public.
     
  7. kitkats thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #7
    Yeah - on studying various posts here and the options, I think maybe the Non-Pro Tempo might be best for me - I don't have a PC, and the Sonnet product seems to have fewer issues than the cheaper alternatives. Thanks
     
  8. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I'm using this no problems at all with it now I have not put a second drive in it so no clue on that aspect of its functionality.

    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Apple-Mac-Pr...LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2584ed455f&_uhb=1
     

Share This Page