Slow streams from Time Capsule 4th Gen.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by PlutoDelic, Mar 2, 2015.

1. PlutoDelic macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

Just recently i acquired the aforementioned device, for the sole reason that i could have 3 devices in one.

Initially, it serves as my Gateway, since my friendly ISP allows me to have personal devices instead of theirs. Secondly, it acts as my WiFi AP, and Finally, it is a NAS device which i really needed a lot.

I have noticed a weird behaviour when i attach 100mbit Ethernet, meaning that the peer device connected to the TC cannot handle more then 100mbit. It seems WiFi streams are way stable compared to Ethernet streams, and i am puzzled. I am a network engineer, and our nature is to troubleshoot. Network transfers are fast in Ethernet, ofc even compared to WiFi, but streams are not.

I have loaded a few 1080p videos, with different encodings, but whatever i do, via Ethernet i have buffers every 5 seconds, via WiFi every minute.

I cannot jump to any conclusion except software mis-adaption, while the TC cannot deliver directly, its Switching power remains in tact, as i can stream 1080p from two different ports to each other without a problem.

I read Apple has standardised Samba protocol (how the hell did Microsoft do this????), i suspect NFS could have been way better in this matter, and wondering if such things are possible.

PS, 5GHz Network seems limited to region, as i cant find Europe, and i cant remember 802.11a/n having different deployment from the Chip perspective, but are rather limited to channel options, any solution for this as well, most of my devices cant see the 5ghz even though they absolutely support it.

PSS, anyone witnessed any performance increase in changing the built in drive?

Sorry lads for the bombardment, i've been a reader in this community for a while, and finally had a reason to be a member.

2. Altemose macrumors G3

Altemose