Slow system

Discussion in 'macOS' started by r00li, Sep 27, 2008.

  1. r00li macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #1
    A while ago I tryed to defragment my imac's HD with Tech Tool Pro 4. But that program crashed in the middle of defragmentation proces. So my system never booted up. I tryed repair disk several times but it didn't help. Finaly I gave up and did a archive and install. System then booted up and worked but slower. So I defragmented my HD with iDefrag. The system was then much faster but still not as fast as it should be. After the archive and install programs like Photoshop, Office 2008... didn't work. So I removed them with AppCleaner. Then I wanted to reinstall them. I reinstalled office and it crashed on startup. I tryed updating it and all. I even reintalled it again two times. But it always crashed (tryed with word,excel...). So I tryed to reinstall adobe programs. It found that I had some programs already installed and wanted to repair not reinstall them. But It didn't work - I just got eror that the programs cannot be reinstalled.

    That is one problem but there is another. System is sometimes slow as hell. Most of the time it eats 99% of RAM - even if I have all my programs closed (I have 1GB but it worked like it should before so I can't blame too little RAM). And then we get to disk activity I can hear the HD the whole time!

    I was looking at activity monitor and I found out that half of the processes are doubled like this:
    DasboardClient x3
    TabletDriver x2
    smbd x2
    ...
     
  2. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #2
    Yuck! If you run Disk Utility, Repair Disk when you boot from your System install CD, does it come back with any errors? If it comes back clean, I would copy any files you want to keep and start over with a complete reformat and installation. It sounds like you have done your best trying to fix this...
     
  3. r00li thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #3
    No I don't get any errors! But I realy don't want to format my HD. Reinstalling all my programs would take too much time. So I am still hoping for a more "nice" solution.
     
  4. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #4
    If you have another hard disk, you can clone the old one to the new one with Disk Utility. This doesn't bring along any lingering file system problems, if you think your file system is still screwy. I have had a file system that showed clean in Disk Utility, but was critically screwy. Use the Restore feature; the source would be your main drive, the destination would be the blank disk.

    If you have a Time Machine going, you can use that as well. Make sure your Time Machine actually has all your stuff (nothing excluded in Time Machine preferences that you want to keep such as VMs), and then boot the 10.5 DVD. Use Disk Utility to erase your main drive. Then use Time Machine to restore the system to the main drive.
     
  5. g4cubed macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #5
    Yes clone your HDD and then use migration assistant to bring your apps/files back over to your clean install.
     
  6. r00li thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #6
    There is nothing wrong with file system! Something is wrong with OSX - doubled processes. And reinstalling with archive and install or other options (cloning...) would probably just transer this problem. I don't even have a HD big enough for that.
     

Share This Page