Slowly degrading wireless download speeds

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Lodesman, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Lodesman macrumors regular

Lodesman

Hi I'm a newbie here.

I bought my first iMac (late 2013) after using iPhones/iPads and am finding that the wireless download speeds degrade significantly over days.

I normally get 65-70 Mb/s but with my iMac this slowly degrades to 20-30Mb/s over a few days.

The problem is rectified by switching off and restarting WiFi. However I am sure I should not have to do this.

Any suggestions ?

2. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

Try changing your wireless channel as a first port of call.

3. ElectronGuru macrumors 65816

Assuming you mean Internet speed you should also try an ethernet test to make sure that the problem is in fact Wi-Fi.

4. Lodesman thread starter macrumors regular

Lodesman

Thanks for your advice.

I am using WiFi at the moment and I will try using an ethernet cable (a pain in the neck due to distance).

I doubt if it is my router as the problem of degrading download speed is rectified by switching off the Wifi on the iMac and then switching it on again.

5. Lodesman thread starter macrumors regular

Lodesman

Still have difficulty with slowly downgrading wireless speeds. The problem is solved by stopping and restarting the iMac WiFi. The normal speed then slowly degrades to 20-25 Mb/sec download over about twelve hours

My router is maintaining a very stable 68-70 Mb/sec download and 18 Mb/sec upload throughout so it is not the router having difficulties. It would appear to be my iMac WiFi.

Using an ethernet cable (really inconvenient) maintains full speeds but I would prefer to use WiFi.

Any more suggestions ?

6. ElectronGuru macrumors 65816

Without someone to come along who has already figured out this specific issue, you need to keep eliminating variables...

Make sure it's not the Internet by testing local content source

Determine if it's the base station, try a second base station or do pier to pier