Sluggish user account

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Benbikeman, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Benbikeman macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Running ML, but was the same on Lion.

    Background: A straight disk-swap was done from a mid-2009 MBP 17 to a late-2011 MBP 17. This caused some issues with the user account which were resolved by the following steps"
    - Repaired disk
    - Zapped Preferences folder from Library

    Since then, all was fine, but the account is sluggish compared to another account on the same machine. Eg. Select System Prefs from the Apple menu, and it takes 2-3 seconds to appear, while it's instant in the other account.

    Any thoughts on what else to try? I'm very reluctant to start again with a clean install as I suspect Migration Assistant would likely bring back whatever is causing it, and starting from scratch, reinstalling all software, reconfiguring the machine, etc, would likely take more than a day's work.
     
  2. GGJstudios, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    1. Launch Activity Monitor
    2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
    3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
    4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
    5. Take a screen shot of the entire Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
    6. Post your screenshots.

    If you're having performance issues, this may help:
     
  3. Benbikeman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Thanks - screengrab attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    First, it looks like Spotlight may be indexing, which would account for slow performance. If that's the case, just let it finish the process and things should speed up.

    If a drive is constantly active or your CPU utilization is high (possibly with increased temps and fan speed) when you're not running any major apps, you can check to see if Spotlight is indexing by looking at the Menu Bar icon:
    [​IMG] (not indexing)
    [​IMG] (indexing) (pulsing dot)​
    When it's indexing, you may also see increased CPU and RAM usage by the mds and mdworker processes in Activity Monitor.

    Also, your Garmin Map Update is using a fair amount of CPU. If that's not a necessary process, you can quit that.
     
  5. Benbikeman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    The Garmin map update is just a very temporary thing - the issue is present without that.

    Just checked, and Spotlight isn't indexing.
     
  6. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #6
    I don't believe ML has the indexing dot anymore.
     
  7. Benbikeman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Any other way to check if it's indexing? It shouldn't be, as the machine has been as-is for 2-3 weeks now.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    As I said, "When it's indexing, you may also see increased CPU and RAM usage by the mds and mdworker processes in Activity Monitor."

    To eliminate that as a possible culprit, force it to reindex.

    Spotlight: How to re-index folders or volumes

    If that fails to index, enter the following command in Terminal:
    sudo mdutil -i on "/Volumes/your drive name"​
     
  9. Benbikeman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    No, it definitely doesn't seem to be indexing. Here's what I see now that the map update is complete:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    What are you using Java for? Also, you may want to delete any non-essential items from the following locations:
    • System Preferences > Accounts > yourusername > Login Items
      (Lion users: System Preferences > Users & Groups > yourusername > Login Items)

    • /Library/LaunchAgents/ and ~/Library/LaunchAgents/
      (Lion users: In Finder, click Go > Go to Folder > then enter the path)

    • /Library/StartupItems/
      (Lion users: In Finder, click Go > Go to Folder > then enter the path)
     
  11. Benbikeman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    Java - your guess is as good as mine.

    Login items are only things I use.

    Launchagents had five items - I've removed those and restarted.

    Startupitems doesn't exist.
     

Share This Page