Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AFABS

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 23, 2008
So I just ordered my Shure SM57 to begin recording. I've been browsing for interfaces for a while and stumbled upon this Behringer Mixer that doubles as an usb interface. Here it is on ZZounds for $180. http://www.zzounds.com/item--BEHXENYX1204FX
The question now is, I've been looking at other interfaces like the M-Audio Fast Track Pro which is $200 and it seems to be quite inferior to the Behringer. The Behringer has built in effects and 4 mic inputs and mixing abilities. The M-Audio has only 2 mic inputs and that's about it. It does have MIDI capabilities which the Behringer lacks, no big deal there though. Eventually I will be getting more mics so the 2 inputs might be limiting in the future. Would I be stupid to get something like the Fast Track Pro over the Mixer??? HELP! I'm new to this.

MezicanGangxtah

macrumors regular
Jul 21, 2007
Denver,CO
So I just ordered my Shure SM57 to begin recording. I've been browsing for interfaces for a while and stumbled upon this Behringer Mixer that doubles as an usb interface. Here it is on ZZounds for $180. http://www.zzounds.com/item--BEHXENYX1204FX
The question now is, I've been looking at other interfaces like the M-Audio Fast Track Pro which is $200 and it seems to be quite inferior to the Behringer. The Behringer has built in effects and 4 mic inputs and mixing abilities. The M-Audio has only 2 mic inputs and that's about it. It does have MIDI capabilities which the Behringer lacks, no big deal there though. Eventually I will be getting more mics so the 2 inputs might be limiting in the future. Would I be stupid to get something like the Fast Track Pro over the Mixer??? HELP! I'm new to this.