Smackbook anyone?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Kalafut, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. Kalafut macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #1
    ok i followed all the steps desktop manager is running i open the terminal

    i type
    cd /Applications/smackbook
    then i type
    perl smac.pl
    the it says "ams hardware present and initialized"

    so it should work right?
    but it doesn't i smack my macbook pretty good (not to hard) and nothing happend, no i can manually change desktops but i can't "smack it"
    any help?
     
  2. Wiredrawn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #2
    Have you downloaded everything you need.

    1. The SmackBook folder
    2. The AMSTracker
    3. Desktop Manager

    Now, you can put the AMSTracker inside the smackbook folder

    The Code you used sounds correct, as long as the Smackbook folder (with the AMSTracker) is actually inside the Applications folder.

    You really need to elaborate on what you've done so far for me to help.
     
  3. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Or you can just use Virtue Desktops and get the same effect (plus switching of desktops using the ambient light sensor if you have a MBP) without messing with any commands.
     
  4. Kalafut thread starter macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #4
    ok i got it working, it looks like it wont work if my smackbook folder is in my applications folder, i draged it on my desktop now it works. ohh well. but i have another problem, i can't close the terminal window, because if i do it will stop working is there any way i can turn those commands into a one click icon. kinda like in windows when you make a batch file.
     
  5. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    As PkennethV suggested, this functionality is built into the latest build of Virtue Desktops. That'll allow you to not have to worry about Terminal or anything like that, just one simple app.
     

Share This Page