Small annoyance in clamshell mode with 2016 MBP-TB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iphoneuserinyyz, Nov 20, 2016.

  1. iphoneuserinyyz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #1
    Enjoying my 2016 MBP-TB so far. However, there is one thing I find a little annoying. At home, I use my machine in clamshell mode connected to my Thunderbolt Display (using the TB3-TB2 dongle from Apple). When I wake up the machine using the keyboard attached to the Thunderbolt Display, no password field shows up under my user name (on my old machine, there would be a password field there, and the cursor would already be in the field, ready to accept my typing). I have to click several times on my user name to get the password field to show up. I believe this is occurring because the MBP is awaiting my fingerprint on the TouchID sensor (which is tucked inside the closed machine). It is not really a big deal, just adds a couple of seconds to each login. But it would be cool if the MBP somehow detected that it was in clamshell mode and offered the password field on the login screen as a result.
     
  2. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #2
    Just start typing your password in, it'll accept the characters.
     
  3. iphoneuserinyyz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #3
    That is handy. Thanks! Annoyance solved...
     
  4. JohnnyGo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #4
    Or use Apple Watch to unlock your MacBook
     
  5. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    sevimli

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    ChiTown
    #5

    Thanks! Why there is no word about this on any website?
     
  6. TheFertileOctogenarian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    #6
    One unrelated question - seems to be the case from your post, but your new 2016 MBP works perfectly, aside from this issue, with your Thunderbolt display? Just want to confirm bc I have a TB display myself and am considering a new MBP.
     
  7. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #7
    I'm okay with this behavior.
     
  8. gr2020 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    I don't think it's related to the MBP - I have a 5k iMac that does the same thing. And the solution is the same, just start typing the password.
     
  9. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #9
    Yes. I also have a 27" Apple Thunderbolt display and the 13" non-touchbar MBP. I can confirm the Apple TB2-TB3 adapter works perfectly with the Thunderbolt Display, though doesn't work to output mDP video to non-Thunderbolt displays.

    Video on the TB display works; I haven't yet plugged anything in to the ports (USB, ethernet) on the back of the display but I don't see why they would also work (but not confirmed). I didn't think to check the Apple System Profiler to make sure they showed up properly but I fully expect them to work.

    The Thunderbolt Display, however, cannot charge the new MBPs, so stuck for the time being with a second power cable.
     
  10. iphoneuserinyyz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #10
    Yes - everything seems to work just fine with the Thunderbolt Display connected using the TB3-TB2 dongle. I have a bunch of things connected to the display (USB hub, USB Apple keyboard, Ethernet, USB scanner, USB dongle for Logitech mouse) and everything works. Only issue is that I need to plug in the MBP using its own charger, as MagSafe doesn't connect obviously.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Thanks! I was having this issue with the same setup as OP and this works perfectly I have been mouse clicking around like an angry chimp. :)
     
  12. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    sevimli

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    ChiTown
    #12
    I use this for the magsafe, only issue i am having is output power, it is limited to 45Watt, regardless I am ok with that!

    https://www.amazon.com/HIOTECH-MagSafe-Adapter-Converter-Connector/dp/B0167WMHP0
     
  13. iphoneuserinyyz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #13
  14. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    sevimli

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    ChiTown
    #14
    I got the AppleCare, and I do not think frying your ports would be this easy... but this is just a thought :)
     

Share This Page