Small developer bullied off the iPhone store

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Castle, Mar 16, 2009.

1. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

I am curious as to what this 'puzzle' is exactly. If you could share some screen shots, I think it would show what is up with it.

TEG

2. Castle thread starter macrumors newbie

It was types of rebus puzzles. There is more information about the type of puzzle here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rebus

I created each puzzle myself, using Photoshop and my brain, but inevitably there would be some similarity to some of theirs. They are like riddles - there is only so many ways you can say the same thing.

I'm a teacher (the app was originally made to be used for revision apps for my pupils, so the development wasn't totally wasted) so I have no money to fight it. I completely accept they own the <redacted> brand, but not, by any account, the type of puzzle.

Similar puzzles can be found here: http://www.puzzlesurfer.com/

3. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

Tokiopop

4. Castle thread starter macrumors newbie

They're demanding I remove my freeware Mac game too, so I doubt that would keep the legal hounds at bay :p

5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

I would have asked for more information before complying. They claim 301 puzzles as being identical to their own. Did they provide you with exhibits demonstrating said claims?

6. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

Wild-Bill

Ask them to produce their copyright before you take your apps down.

I didn't know that one could copyright something that's existed for hundreds of years.

Note to self: boycott Vista Publishing.

7. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

Tokiopop

They have no right to stop you from putting it on Cydia, or anywhere else (except the App Store and iTunes) for that matter. All they can do is ask.