Small problem with my layout -- would appreciate some help!

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by GaseousPlatypus, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. GaseousPlatypus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm designing a website for a friend, and I'm about done, but I made a rather stupid mistake while making it: I only tested it in Safari!

    Now that I uploaded a test page, I've noticed that it doesn't render properly in anything but Safari! There are weird empty spaces in the content boxes that appear above the text. I figure it has something to do with the code to make the boxes scale with the text, but I haven't been able to figure out what's causing it. I'd really appreciate some help!

    Here's the link:

    Note: as I said earlier, if you're using Safari it'll look fine, but in Camino and Firefox it doesn't display properly.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ddoonie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #2
    Quick suggestion. First off i'm a newbie at this, but it looks like you did the photoshop to dreamweaver thing (which i have been doing). Did you set the background colour for the table as well? I see you set the body colour. Put the layout in expanded mode, and see if there are spacer images where the gaps are...

    I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will be able to help!

    ps... check in the template, maybe you have an added space where you added an editable region...
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Firefox gave the following error, check if none is a valid text decoration...

    Warning: Error in parsing value for property 'text-decoration'. Declaration dropped.
    Source File: http://ironsideconsulting.com/
    Line: 13

    Also try not putting a div inside a table. You should ideally do it fully with CSS and without tables but mixing them could well be causing issues.

    Also you're going to need to test in Internet Explorer.
     
  4. GaseousPlatypus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    #4
    Well bugger me with a fishfork, that worked! I can't believe I forgot about that. Thanks a ton!

    Yeah, I think the CSS error is probably from me using "strong" instead of "bold". Doesn't play nice with old browsers I think.

    I was actually told to put the div inside of the table for a layout such as this. Why is that a bad practice (always looking to learn, I'm rather new at this).

    Thanks much for your help as well!
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    ^^ It just seems unneeded to use a div inside a table that's all.
     
  6. ddoonie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #6
    I've had my issues as well haha... Looks good!
     

Share This Page