iPhone Smart 3G + LTE Reviews and Feedback

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mrmister, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. mrmister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #1
    Now that NCSettings doesn't support EDGE for phones where you can't enable it in Settings, I'm looking at Smart 3G + LTE as an app that would automatically switch my phone to EDGE whenever it was locked, to save battery life.

    Is anyone using this actively? I'm on Verizon, so I can't use AkAuto3G.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    I'm using it. Works great. Switch WiFi off and 3G comes back on. Switch WiFi on and 3G shuts down (there's a toggle for 2G or Edge). There is also an exception list so if there is any app you want to keep running on 3G it won't cut it off when you lock the screen. That's great for me because I often have a Google music player streaming my music and I want it to continue in the car when I'm not on WiFi.

    I've had zero issues with this and it's worked everytime. One of the few tweaks I've experienced so far where I can just forget about it and know that it's working.
     
  3. supersaian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #3
    This tweak does not work on iphone 5, it can not tun back 3G or LTE on.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    It's working on my iPhone 5.
     
  5. mrmister thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #5
    Is your iPhone 5 on Verizon? Mine doesn't really work—I told it to keep Edge, and it seems to kill all data when on WiFi and locked. That's not too annoying, but then I can't always get the radios to turn back on...and this morning it locked up the connection, so that even though it showed it working, I could get no data at all until I restarted.

    I have uninstalled it for now.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I'm on Sprint. Which is CDMA, same as Verizon.

    It's normal behaviour to turn off Cellular data when on WiFi with this tweak. You'll still get phone calls and SMS/MMS, just not it seems Voice Mail.

    The normal behaviour is for the tweak to detect the change. Leave your WiFi on. If you come into range of a network you can automatically connect to then the tweak should switch the 3G radios off (keeping 2G/Edge). When you leave a WiFi network it should switch the 3G radios back on and WiFi off. The whole point of the tweak is to do this automatically so you shouldn't be having to switch anything.
     
  7. mrmister thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #7
    It has a setting called "Keep Edge". Would that only work on EDGE, and not EV-DO, like the Verizon network? My preferred thing would be for it still to get a trickle of data, so VM notifications work normally...

    ----------

    And I'm actually restoring right now, while I can, because my phone's radios got borked—all networking would freeze, and I would have to toggle airplane and/or restart to download webpages. Not certain Smart 3G is the culprit, but it's one of the suspects...
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Well, all I can say is that I'm not having any issues except getting VM when on WiFi. I have the Keep Edge setting on. I'm on Sprint, which I understand is the exact same kind of network as Verizon. IDK.
     
  9. mrmister thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #9
    So does anyone know what the "Keep Edge" setting does?
     
  10. mrmister thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
  11. iaymnu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #11
    This tweak does not work that well. It sometimes would auto switch. but usually stays in one setting.

    But the edge option. it forced edge at all times for me. no switching.
     
  12. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #12
    this tweak probably uses more battery than normal use, activating radios and deactivating them to activate others cause the phone to search for signal and if you are in an area with middle range LTE signal then the phone will boost power to get LTE which will cause almost the same battery drain than just leaving it there iddle with no tweak
     
  13. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    I tried this tweak and it totally screwed up my phone. It prevented my phone from getting any cellular signal at all, no voice or anything. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
     
  14. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #14
    I use akAuto3g for my gsm 4s on AT&T. It works awesome. Only thing it's missing is an exceptions list. The dev is working on it and should be coming in the next update. I have no experience with the tweak discussed in this thread. But for anyone looking for something like this, I highly recommend akAuto3g. If anyone has any questions feel free to ask.
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    Well, I guess I'm the only one that is not having any issues with this tweak. It works great for me, I have an iPhone 5 and I'm not currently in an LTE area. Perhaps that may change when Sprint finally gets LTE to Phoenix, Arizona, but IDK.

    In the meantime this tweak has been performing as advertised for the last month and a half. I've never had to worry about battery drain or radio switching.

    It just works.

    For me anyway. And oh yeah, my cellular connection is just fine!
     

Share This Page