iPad Smart Case On & Off switch In General Settings?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Peruvian, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Peruvian macrumors regular

    Peruvian

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1
    My new iPad air 2 arrived with the smart case from apple..

    Now, there is no on/off option in the general settings to make the smart case put the iPad to sleep or wake.. Even with the case on, nothing is happening..

    Could the smart case be at fault or is it a hardware problem with the iPad?

    Just wondering if anyone has had this problem and what the solution is..

    Thanks,
    P...
     
  2. adamhenry, Feb 1, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2015

    adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #2
    You can set the option for locking and unlocking in General settings. When you open the case the iPad should ask for your passcode or touchid if you set the Lock/Unlock switch under General settings for this. Closing the case puts the iPad to sleep when closed and wakes it when opened.
     
  3. Peruvian thread starter macrumors regular

    Peruvian

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    U.K.
    #3
    Thanks for the response, but there is no lock/unlock switch in the general settings..

    I was told it should appear when the case is put on the iPad, but still nothing..
     
  4. fricotin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico
    #4
    It's in the General settings Lock/Unlock wether there is a case or not.
     
  5. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #5
    It should be there whether the case is on or not.

    Settings - General - Scroll 3/4 of the way down. It says "Lock/Unlock".
     
  6. Peruvian thread starter macrumors regular

    Peruvian

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    U.K.
    #7

    Attached Files:

  7. Peruvian thread starter macrumors regular

    Peruvian

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    U.K.
    #8
    Well, for anyone who cares or has a similar problem,

    I took the iPad to the Genius Bar and it turns out the smart case was faulty, they exchanged for a new one which works perfectly..

    That's the end of story,
    Thanks P...
     
  8. Newtons Apple macrumors G5

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    Yep, it sounds like a "working" case has to be present for the option to appear!

    Glad you got it sorted out!
     
  9. Jeff R macrumors 6502

    Jeff R

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #10
    Good to know! Must've been the magnets in the smart case.
     

Share This Page