Smart Status: Failing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hurcoo, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. hurcoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #1
    Hello everyone. I think i cant fix this problem. The only solution is buy a new hard drive. I am using now toshiba MK5055GSXF and i want a new 500gb hard drive with which one should i replace it?
    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP53.00AC.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.48f2

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/404/screenshot20130307at346.png/

    I noticed this problem yesterday while i was tring to install mac os x mountain lion and i couldnt install according to this problem.. I dont have any problems with my mac right now. It works fine but people says better if i change it. Which hard drive should i buy? Thank you. And sorry for my english if it is bad :)
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Yeah replace the drive asap, if you start seeing Smart Status messages then your drive is on its way out
     
  3. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #3
    It doesnt give me reports only i see it when i go utilities-disk utility and there is my hard drive with red color.. So with which one should i replace it?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Smart Status is reporting the error and that's my point.

    What I'm seeing from your screen shot is you have a single physical drive partitioned into two volumes. You'll need to replace that single physical drive which means both your OSX and bootcamp partitions will need to be recreated
     
  5. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Of course all purchased equipment becomes officially "on its way out" as soon as we plug it in or put it to use. No one can argue with that. It likely has an unrecoverable sector error - which usually indicates there were between 5 and 20 of them priorly - all usually in the same general vicinity on the physical platter.

    Your drive won't hang, click incessantly, or die abruptly in some cases, until it attempts to read from those specific sectors. And when it does, nothing may happen at all - this is true.

    The bottom line rule doesn't change under these conditions tho: If you're interested in keeping the data stored on ANY KIND of media, back it up. And usually redundant backups are preferred.

    so I say go ahead and use it. Heck, run a repair thingy on it. Investigate how a drive's status as you're seeing there, is often just a recorded false positive - which can be removed by the clever user. Do all that... just keep the rules and you'll be a happy guy. ;)
     
  6. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #6
    Some hours ago i formatted it both and i installed mac again.. but nothing changed
     
  7. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Download and install this: http://www.volitans-software.com/smart_utility.php

    Of the 20 or so S.M.A.R.T. monitors and utilities I own and have tested it's THE ONLY ONE that actually works and reports common-sensical accurate information.

    The will tell you what the drive actually knows about itself.

    ----------

    Did you do at least 1 pass of the "write zeros" option on it when formatting?

    This is critical in using a drive with errors on it!
     
  8. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #8
    http://prntscr.com/vd0uq this is the report

    and i dont know that option just i formatted my bootcamp and i reinstalled mac os x
     
  9. justperry, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    I was interested and hit the download button and get this:

    This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
    <Error>
    <Code>AccessDenied</Code>
    <Message>Access Denied</Message>
    <RequestId>389CD9FA3029F63C</RequestId>
    <HostId>
    4qVuS4iRLLe7fZztLOUTghatcGefQKzDzmQHUyRy8CxBT5KN5np1t7Xc/Q7gCFQU
    </HostId>
    </Error>

    Edit: Download on old Powerbook did work, on same network????
     
  10. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #10
    2047 bad sectors... All reallocated too. Nice! You can continue using it. I bet the drive only has 2048 "extra" sectors set aside for reallocation and that's why it's listed as actually failed.

    Here's the Write Zeros Option in DiskUtility:

    [​IMG]

    For relatively the same thing in a Windows Environment I think you just need to uncheck the "Quick Format" option when formatting.

    This is something you should really do before trusting it.
     
  11. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #11
    I cant reach that point through diskutility.. Maybe i should reinstall everything and not separate my hard drive in 2 volumen only 1. By the way thank you so much :)
     
  12. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    You don't see an "Erase Free Space" option in DiskUtility?
     
  13. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #13
    ahh now yes i see it.. well my disk has two partitions so on which on should i use erase free space option? and when i click it it has 3 other options
    zero out deleted files
    7-pass erase of deleted files
    35-pass erase of deleted files
     
  14. Tesselator, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    Multi-pass is better as it will stress test and maybe find some weaker sectors about to go bad. But you really only single pass and those multi-pass options can take a loooong time. I think maybe that feature is misnamed and it should be something more like:

    Format and zero out all user addressable platter locations
    Rewrite zeros 7 times
    Rewrite zeros 35 times.​



    I would not format the volume partitions but rather select the drive entry and do it all. I guess it'll take about an hour or something.
     
  15. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #15
    Thank you so much tesselator :) i am doing it right now and it will take something like 1 hour 20 minutes. And that thing will work for what? Like that can i use my harddrive without any trouble?
     
  16. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
    There are no guarantees. (Even with a new drive really) What you're doing now is having software cause the heads to write to and verify every location on the drive that you would ordinarily use through a filesystem. Mmm, I guess we can call it Apple's Disk Integrity Test. :D This format routine should also map out any further bad sectors if indeed there are still some "free sectors" to reallocate them to. Some drive firmware is occasionally wonky enough to not actually do that tho - rare but sometimes is the case.

    I'm a little cautious with HDDs myself (because I don't like surprises) so if it were me I would want to find out where the errors are physically located and if tightly grouped (as is often the case) just partition around the bad area or areas. If scattered all over I'd just get another drive and not try to use or repair that one. 500GB drives are like $50 to $65 right? Also the above process is kind of involved for just a $50 500GB drive.

    And Seagate has two drives I'm more interested in that any 500GB drive I know of anyway. One is Seagate's 2.5" Momentus XT 750 GB for about $120 - this is an SSD/HDD hybrid some folks are calling SSHD. And the other is the Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 (1TB single platter 7200.14 - 64MB) which typically sells for around $65 to $75 and is as fast as a $300 Velociraptor of the same size.
     
  17. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #17
    I think i am going to buy a new fast one :) Well you spent your time helping me. I am glad for that thank you so much again :)
     
  18. Tesselator, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    Sure NP. Pay it forward bro...

    On "Fast ones" the two drives I linked to are the fastest (given typical price-points) according to pretty much everyone's benchmarks.

    The Momentus 750GB drive would be perfect for BootCamp I would think. It's the same speed as an SSD drive (but only for the most often used files). If your usage profile is what I think typical for BootCamp users (For booting into Windows, running the same 3 to 5 apps every time, shutting down) then this is kinda like having a 750GB SSD for $120 (sweet!).

    And the 1TB drive I mentioned is of course the second fastest 1TB drive on the planet right now for $75. Second only to the $300 1TB WD Velociraptor. I own a whole slew of the 3TB versions of this drive. Yeah, fast... :)



    LOL - And I just now noticed that your thrad was moved because you're dealing with a MBP and not a MacPro. hehehe... That being the case alter any suggestions I made based on the storage options you have available. :D

    .
     
  19. hurcoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #19
    i will wait for several weeks then i am going to buy the one witgh 750 gb that you have sent :) i am playing sometimes wow maybe that is ruining my macbook :D
     
  20. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #20
    There is a chance that you can repair this HDD if you have access to an IBM PC and are tech savvy enough to take your computer apart and remove the HDD. I use a PC DOS-based program called Spinrite as a maintenance utility and data recovery utility on all my HDD's. You take the HDD out of the Mac and connect it to the IBM-PC and run the program. Below is my old MBP HDD in a Dell PC with Spinrite working on it.

    Independent review of Spinrite (not me)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    The SMART Utility, for OS X, was indicating a bad sector on my iMac HDD and recently I took it out and installed an SSD. I put the HDD in a Dell PC and ran Spinrite on it, correcting the bad sector.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Tesselator, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    I can throw a vouch SpinRite's way too. This is probably just the kind of situation where it's the most useful... That being a still functioning drive with potentially problematic sector ("blocks" in spin write speak) errors.
     

Share This Page