Smartphone or Palm?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ruffian829, Jun 19, 2008.

1. Ruffian829 macrumors 6502

I am a brand new mac user.
    I am thinking of getting a smart phone or a palm piolet... I want something that I can get email on and have a good calender and contacts on the go...
    I initially wanted to get a palm piolet only because I didnt like the super huge smart phones- I want something that can fit in my pocket- but since they are a lot smaller now I'm leaning in that direction.

Since I'm new to Mac, but loving it, I want something that can sync up with a mac and that has some sort of a Mac feel to it?
    Unfortunately, the iPhone ranks on the "too big" scale for me... and i'm not a huge fan of the iTouch (I have a nano, I dont want both! LOL)

does anyone have any suggestions for a phone or even palm os that will work nicely with a mac? a palm or pda that doesn't use windows?

Thanks!

2. j26 macrumors 65832

j26

Missing Sync from Markspace does a good job of syncing Palm with a Mac.

3. zap2 macrumors 604

zap2

I'm not really sure what you're looking for if the iPhone is to big......its one of the small smartphones to date.

Palm's Centro(which is shorter, but a good deal fatter)

(Sprint, AT&T and Verizon in the US)
    Good device, syncs with OS X, a bit dated OS, but still functions

Palm T/X
    Just a PDA, and Palm looks to be dropping PDAs, but still funtions(personal I'd look towards a smartphones)
    I believe its taller and fatter then an iPhone.

Nokia's E71 looks to be good...idk about syncing with OS X, but I'd guess its be good(doesn't run WM, so thats a plus when syncing with OS X)

Honestly if you think the iPhone is to big, you're really limiting what you can buy.

4. lisamel macrumors regular

lisamel

I know you said you didnt want the iPhone.. But I just want to recommend it. I am syncing an iPhone with my imac and macbook and it all works perfectly with .mac (soon to be mobileme).