SMC Fan Control Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by SyncFx, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. SyncFx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    So hey, sup.

    I had iStat Menu or what not for maybe 5 days and when I zapped it for SMC(all I wanted was just fan control and not the other stuff) I forgot to reset it back to Default 2000rpm, so besides SMC thinking default is now 3000rpm, when I run intensive applications like a Source game on Steam or sometimes even PS, SMC locks the rpm at 3000, so I basically have to set SMC to a Higher RPM prior to starting my applications now..

    Any fix?
     
  2. Halvard macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #2
    Maybe try to install iStat Menu again and change it? :)

    Or in preferences in SMC, try to change Default to 2000 :)
     
  3. SyncFx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    think of installing iStat again to change Default to 2000, to see if it works, however SMC thinks Default is 3000, as in I cannot lower it below 3000 within SMC. Which I find strange.
     
  4. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #4
    I have a problem with the "Default" setting with smcFanControl so what I did was create a new profile and called it Lowest and dropped the fan speed to the far left. Then I changed the auto-apply drop-downs from Default to Lowest. This should work for you if you continue to have a problem with smcFanControl's "Default" setting.
     
  5. aces2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    #5
    This worked for me! Thanks!
     

Share This Page