Smc FanControl, How accurate is it's temperature?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kensic, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. kensic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #1
    Currently using Smc FanControl 2.4, it only shows 1 temperature.

    how accurate is this temperature? and which component is it censoring?

    when comparing to all the temps from IstatsPro...they are about 15C difference.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Here's a tip for you.

    Don't use any programs monitoring your Mac except when troubleshooting.

    There is no need to monitor your Mac, those Apps even add to the temperature and needs CPU resources.
    The new iStatMenus for instance writes to disk every few seconds for logging, now if you have an SSD you get even more unnecessary writes.

    Just a tip, no more, if you want to waste your time monitoring it's your choice.
     
  3. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    smcFanControl doesn't even use 0.1% of my CPU. Most of the time, it's so miniscule, Activity Monitor says it's using 0.0% of my CPU. It only uses roughly 15MB of RAM. On my cMBP with 8GB RAM, that's only 0.18% RAM. Not even 1%.

    So, I'd have to disagree. I'm not sure about iStat, but smcFanControl hardly uses any resources. For most users, it's safe to say it practically uses no resources.
     
  4. kensic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #4
    no one still hasn't answer my question.

    1) the temp. on smcfancontrol....which component is it censoring?

    2) why is it so different from any of the istat pro temperatures.



    thank you for all other inputs. don't those 2 questions above bother you guys?
     
  5. justperry, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #5
    Oh, I know it uses little resources, that I agree with, but it was just a tip, no need to monitor or regulate the Fan, Apple does normally a better job in this than the end User.

    I will get back to you in a moment and report if there is a difference in the Temps.

    It was just a tip, no more so don't be "offended".

    Update soon.

    Update: Just compared with iStaMenus, they both report the same, smcFanControl is a bit faster changing the temps but it's a 1-2 Degrees Celsius difference max. and mostly the same.
    MacMini 2012 Base Model
     
  6. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    In most cases, yes. But with regards to temperature and fans, I notice my fans don't kick in until nearly 100 Celsius, which is too hot. I manually turn on the fans at around 80 (when using intensive applications) and can keep it in the 90s without ever reaching the 100s.
     
  7. kensic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #7
    no you didn't offend me. Well that's good that SMC and istatmenu are on the same page. I wonder why Istatpro is so different.
     
  8. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    I do use it when I am in a hot climate, which is lots of times, I just moved higher up (1300m) in the mountains and it's quite a bit cooler here, I only use this on my old Powerbook when it is sunny and hot outside, but I just monitor the temp. on it and have an external small fan to cool it.
    Don't use it on the new Mini.
    SmcFanControl is better than iStaMenus, as I said before it logs the temps amongst others and writes to disk every few seconds which I think is unacceptable.

    ----------

    Oh, iStaPro, I will download this and report back, takes a bit, slow internet.
     
  9. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #9
    Maybe they have become better but apple does a horrible job with fans.

    I can never play a game on my C2D without manually turning the fans up. Otherwise 5 mins into the game the graphics lagggg a lot and then the fans start up and it goes back to normal
     
  10. kensic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #10
    i dont like the fact that the fans don't ramp-up til you hit a 100C.

    in my opinion that's a DUMB logic from apple. isn't heat the enemy of all electronics, why wouldn't you want to cool them down? o wait...it's not a 100C yet...it's only 95C


    *shakes head*
     
  11. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #11
    Erm, I just downloaded iStatPro, just 500 KB or so but I just came from 10.5.8 and there was dashboard, how do I get widgets to display in 10.8 :eek: , there is no Dashboard so what is the keyboard shortcut to display a widget here.
     
  12. kensic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #12
    F12 to get to dashboard. click on the "+" bottom left corner. then a list of available widgets come up on the next screen. the just click on the one you want add to dashboard
     
  13. justperry, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #13
    Does not work, I changed the shortcut in System preferences and assigned a hot corner, even then it does not work, I think I know why, or it's because I remote control the Mini on a Powerbook but all other shortcuts work so unlikely or it's the leftover from my Migration from 10.5.8, I disabled dashboard there, don't know how.

    I'll try to find out, until then I can not launch iStatPro.

    Update: it works in another account, have to figure out why.

    But, the Temperature was the same as SmcFanCotrol, so something is wrong in yours.
     
  14. kensic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #14
    thank you for your effort, hmm interesting. i will have to figure something out.
     
  15. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #15
    Oh, one thing, be sure the sensor you compare is the same, Even CPU can have more sensors.
     
  16. Queen6, Mar 8, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2013

    Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #16
    You can use software to override Apple`s own cooling algorithm by manually taking control of fan RPM and setting up power profile presets with SMC Fan Control 2.4, or with UltraFan which allows you stipulate a preset temperature and the software will automatically raise and lower fan RPM`s to keep the system at the predefined temp, which i personally feel is a far more elegant solution. At the end of the day you want to control your system temperature, not your fan rpm`s. For me SMC is now pretty much redundant with the latest release of UltraFan having manual control of the fans RPM, and subsequently i am starting to uninstall it from my own Mac`s. SMC FC is a great app, however although it`s recently updated, functionality is limited compared to some newer apps, equally SMC Fan Control is rock steady stable and a finished product.

    If you are looking at a purely monitoring application Bresink`s Temperature Monitor is by far one of the most concise. Not all apps are equal and not all have been updated for the latest CPU`s hence why some can read out different sensors UltraFan, SMC & Bresink are accurate.

    What i have observed over the years is the best solution is a combination of software, and powered cooler, on my Late 2011 15" MBP (2.4 i7) running both internal & external display`s i run; Ultrafan set to 66C, AdBlock and it sits on a CoolerMaster NotePal E1 this results in a reasonably cool and quiet system. My Retina is better behaved thermally and i just run UltraFan, AdBlock and it sits on a Rain Design Mstand. As ever the old adage applies; it`s easier to keep a system cool, than cool-down an already hot machine down. Admittedly i have lived in hot climates for the last several years, equally i can reduce temps by as much as 20C when the system is maxed out.

    More Mac cooling: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=16346518&posted=1#post16346518
     
  17. mikercana1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #17
    I have a problem with an Imac, it gives me error pfm006 which something related to SMC ,the fan go full blast and the kernel task takes all of the cpu time apparently this normal if a sensor goes bad.

    I have installed SMC fan control, it reads 130C which is pretty well what I expected, it only read 1 temperature.
    I installed Istat menus and it has numerous temperature reading but all appear to be good?

    So what my question is how do these 2 program differ in reading temperature?
    Is it because that SMC fan control gets it from the SMC chip which reports it bad anyway (as per error pfm006)?
    Istat menus must get it from somewhere else obviously as they all look good.

    Mikercana1
     
  18. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  19. mikercana1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #19
    --- Post Merged, May 4, 2017 ---
    That is what I am doing, just curious to see if there are competent people here that would help me.

    Istat menus support replied to me the following;
    Hi Michel,

    Thanks for your email.

    Unfortunately we think it may be a software issue and not a sensor issue.

    Are you able to send us a screenshot of each app.

    Kind regards,
    Bjango Support


    LOL
    I know that my machine has an issue, it is not software.
    I am/was inquiring mostly as why Istat menus and SMC fan control report the temperature differently.
    I can certainly send them a screen shot of the Istat menu temperature report and SMC fancontrol but what will that give them other than "seing is believing" LOL


    -------------------------------------------------

    My point was if I could figure out how Istat Menus gets the temperature from the hardware/software versus SMC fan control, it would help me figure out where my issue is.
    I think that error PFM006 is more related to the SMC chip itself (could be firmware or a line coming which is not what it could).
    SMC fan control probably work more closely with the SMC chip and I suspect Istat Menus gets it from a derived version more software.

    I would think that an engineer working on Istat Menus would know right away the difference and vice versa.

    from what I gather SMC fan control takes less space/resources on the cpu and the machine.
    I suspect that Istat Menus is all software only thus must demanding on cpu time.

    Thank you for comments but as you can see , I have gone that route already.

    Mikercana1


    Again if someone knows the difference please let me/us know as I suspect many more people are waiting for the answer.
     
  20. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    I'm sure they all read the same sensors

    The source code to MenuMeters is available, you could see how it works
     

Share This Page