smcFanControl problem or my MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tribe3, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. tribe3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #1
    Guys, my Power Supply fan stays at 619 RPM regardless of the speed I set with smcFC. The other 3 fans work OK when I bump the speed.

    I'm double checking with "Hardware Monitor".

    Can any of you with smcFC double check to see if it's the machine or the app?

    Thanks
     
  2. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #2
    mine stays at 599 even when i set it to the highest speed
     
  3. tribe3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
  4. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    tribe3 - what version are you running? I am on 2.1.2 and it works fine EVEN THOUGH I had given up several weeks ago for the same reasons you are experiencing. It is running on a Mac Pro 2.6 Quad and a MBP 2.33 Core Duo.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    smcFanControl has never worked with the PS Fan on my Mac Pro.

    I'm using the latest version.

    -Kevin
     
  6. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    same here
     
  7. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
  8. tribe3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #8
    And it works on your MP? hum... I'm running version 2.1.2. I could swear it used to work though:confused:

    The fact that so many other folks have the same issue is good because it means it's not my machine. I don't really care if smc has bugs, but I was importing 4000 photos to Aperture and it was using all my memory (7 gigs) and much of the processors (for hours) so I decided to boost some air inside the case just to be on the safe side. That's when I noticed the PS fan not speeding-up.

    Bests
     
  9. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #9
    Sad that your $2500+ machine won't turn the fans up by itself huh? ;)

    Can't understand why Apple can't fix it's own settings.

    When you were doing the import....where the fans running ANY faster on their own?

    -Kevin
     
  10. tribe3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #10
    Yeah to that...

    Nope, the fans were at the same speed as when I chat with my grandma. Things were not very hot inside though, in fact it was all pretty cool except the inner memory chips in both risers at 80° C (not too bad either).

    I guess if I was a music editor I would be grateful for the silent machine
     
  11. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #11
    Was it ever meant to work with the Mac Pro? I never could get any of the fan control programs which did work on the MBP's to work with the Pro.
     
  12. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  13. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #13
  14. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #14
    Huh. I could have sworn I was using V2 something.

    I guess I should try it again. My remaining Pros are in an air-con'd room so I don't worry about them as much as I used to but I'd still like them to have more airflow.
     
  15. Apple Corps macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #15
    FYI - I am also running the latest firmware update on my MP - not sure if that has anything to do with it BUT it is finally working very well.

    With smple browsing underway my MBP is

    106f @ 2353 rpm
     
  16. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #16
    With smacfancontrol the power supply did not go up. But with the other program i posted it does.
     
  17. tribe3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Vienna, VA - USA
    #17
    Apple Corps, I believe you are referring to a MacBook Pro and the rest of us are talking about the Mac Pro? I apologize if I'm wrong.

    Bests

    Pablo
     

Share This Page