smooth parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by shiunn, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. shiunn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #1
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Mine switches pretty smooth. I'm using VirtueDesktop. Also, how many things are you running in the background? That might be one reason why it's not running very well.
     
  3. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #3
    i don't have many apps running in the background. Actually, the transition to xp itself is fine. it's just that at the end of the cube animation, there is a last flicker, before the full screen sets in. how do i get rid of the flicker?
     
  4. AVID macrumors member

    AVID

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    27:153
    #4
    i'm running parallel on mac pro, and the flicker is there for me. so i dont think its a mb issue
     
  5. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    That guy already has Parallels running in full screen before he switches. It's an OS X to Windows transition via Virtue Desktop that is being shown, not a Window to Full Screen Parallels transition.
     
  6. operator macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I also use parallels on a MacBook w/ 2GB of ram ... no flicker for me.
     
  7. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #7
    hey guys,
    you're rite. the virtue desktop works great
     
  8. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    i used to have parallels running in full screen with virtuedesktop. the day they introduced coherence, i saw no point in using virtuedesktop anymore (for that purpose. of course)
    virtuedesktop is cool i admit. at least for impressing girls in class. for serious works, Cmd-tab and/or dashboard is sufficient. the problem with virtuedesktop is that its transition just takes too much time, and it's not even true 3D desktop (i.e., like beryl) so it's very inconvenient because you can't drag a window from one desktop to another. it becomes annoying after awhile.
     
  9. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #9
    I totally disagree. You can set the transition to whatever interval you like. Transferring screens for me is nearly instantaneous (have it set to .1 seconds). It really helps my productivity...in fact, I'd say that VirtueDesktops is probably the most important app on my MBP. There is a reason that Apple decided to put so much work into Spaces in the upcoming Leopard...they really see the potential that VirtueDesktops created.
     
  10. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #10
    perhaps i should have explained it clearer. i didn't really complain the transition time. i complained that it was separated desktops and there's no easy/fast way to move a window from one desktop to another.

    if you've ever used a multiple screen setup, you would know what i meant. working with virtuedesktop's desktops is like working with multiple computers, rather than a computer with multiple screens.
     

Share This Page