SMS from Saudi Arabia to USA?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Edd.Dantes, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. Edd.Dantes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #1
    My friend in Saudi Arabia can receive my SMS messages but cannot reply to them.

    She has tried iMessage and just regular SMS and she can only receive from me...

    She has an iPhone 5 and I have a 5s.

    I have tried soooo many different things and so has she.

    I am stumped :(

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    are there any government restrictions or filtering there regarding outgoing messages to foreign countries?

    for SMS i can see a number of issues, mostly carrier related. however, imessages should work with no issues. it wont even work through wifi? how are you sending it? phone number or email address?

    from what i read, alot of things are censored and all internet communications are fed through government server farms. but i cant see imessages being filtered.
     
  3. Edd.Dantes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #3
    dictoresno,

    You touched on everything I thought as well. I researched many things, yet I'm still stumped.

    She sends messages outside of the Kingdom to other friends with no problem.

    We have both cell numbers and e-mail addresses... so I have no idea why imessage isn't working either. Not much of a way to restrict that.

    I did read an old tweet and some old articles about KSA not allowing iMessage but that was in 2011. From what I understand, it works now.

    https://twitter.com/AbduIaziz/status/124236100804947968

    She has tried my number with 01 and 001, plus area code and number.

    It's just weird that she can receive my SMS messages but not send. As much as I hate to say it... It sounds like a government filtering issue but that still doesn't explain iMessage not working.

    Maybe someone can treat me like a child and walk me through what we may be doing wrong here.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. m7ammed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #4
    Any idea which carrier she is using? if you want to test it PM me your number and I will text you and see if it works. There shouldn't be any restriction on SMS that I know of. Plus, iMessage works in Saudi it is just facetime that is disabled in all MiddleEast version of the phone. So if you have US iPhone over here facetime would work.
     
  5. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    as far as i have seen/heard, government censorship is more about blocking outbound traffic and requests. they dont want their people viewing outside websites. i know saudi arabia did block BBM traffic on blackberry phones a few years ago, however lifted this ban once RIM agreed to install a separate, secure BBM server of their own which allowed them to review data.

    which carrier does she use? i have a feeling outbound internet traffic being sent to US or non saudi apple servers is probably being blocked.

    on a side note, my friend who is persian, i think has trouble sending text messages to girls he knows in iran as they are possibly watched. they are forced to resort to yahoo messenger and using proxy websites, due to censorship regulations there.
     
  6. Impuls3101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    #6
    Maybe get her to switch to a google voice number just for texting and see if that works. She can create a local US number and try that.
     
  7. imhereareyou macrumors regular

    imhereareyou

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    #7
    Try Whatsapp It works for me when I am chatting with friends overseas...
     
  8. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #8
    Have you ever ported your number between networks? I've seen this with international texts occasionally, where the carrier in another country did not receive or process notifications of ported numbers and continued to route SMS to the old carrier, who just discarded it. In my case it never got resolved until I moved my number to a different network again, then it started working, but Viber, WhatsApp and iMessage are much better than SMS anyway so it wasn't a big deal.
     
  9. Edd.Dantes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #9
    m7ammed,

    I have sent you a PM. Thank you for offering your help!
     
  10. m7ammed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #10
    Just to clear things up, it seems the problem is with here specfic carrier. I sent to SMS messages one from "STC" other from "Mobily". Mobily one was recieved my guess is that STC has some sort of issue or they don't have an Agreement with the US carrier which could happen sometimes.
     
  11. GT41 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    I had problems sending out messages from the Kingdom when I worked there. It seemed to be resolved if I added "+" to the front of the number. Seems that it doesn't work with just the 01, you need "+01". This was a few years ago, not sure if its still the same.
     

Share This Page