SMS/iMessage Relay issues w/beta 6

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by utwarreng, Aug 21, 2014.

  1. utwarreng macrumors 6502

    utwarreng

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #1
    Since installing beta 6 on my new rMBP, the Messages app rarely works for my iMessages, often saying they are "delivered" and then instead having them go through as an SMS (but still showing up in the Messages app). Friends have been telling me that they get two copies of the message, both an iMessage and an SMS.

    If I try to use Messages to send an SMS to someone who doesn't have an iDevice, the message just disappears into oblivion.

    Has anyone else run into this problem? The phone I'm using is a 5S running iOS 8 beta 5. Definitely bummed; this is the biggest feature I'm looking forward to between the two new OSes.
     
  2. Thomi2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    #2
    Beta 5/ DP6 ?

    Hey ! I think it's a problem with the fact you're using Beta 5 and DP6 on Mac.
    There's a difference between the device and your Mac.
    By the way, don't forget you're using beta softwares ! It can't work as expected. Just wait until final softwares are released and maybe it'll be fixed on its own. :apple:
     
  3. PsykX macrumors 6502a

    PsykX

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #3
    It requires iOS 8 Beta 6, which hasn't been released for developers.
    We'll have to wait.

    It's annoying because once you have the taste of this feature, you can't let go of it.
     
  4. utwarreng thread starter macrumors 6502

    utwarreng

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #4
    Agreed; it's the main reason I went ahead and upgraded my MacBook, rather than spend $100 to fix my 6 1/2 year old one. Can't wait for it to be fully functional.

    Thanks guys!
     
  5. utwarreng thread starter macrumors 6502

    utwarreng

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
  6. DigitalN. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #6
    To the people saying it's due to Beta 5 iOS, it works for me with my Macbook Air 2014 and iPhone 5S. My Mac is running DP6, and my phone is running the 5th beta. I had issues with the public preview version though, it did the same thing as OP until I reinstalled with DP6.
     
  7. utwarreng thread starter macrumors 6502

    utwarreng

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #7
    I downgraded to Yosemite Beta 5, and it works perfectly fine now.
     

Share This Page