Snow leopard 10.6.4 connecting to Windows SBS Server Domain

Discussion in 'iMac' started by leewheeler, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. leewheeler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys this is my very first post on this forum..

    I looked for a introduction forum but couldn't see one so hello guys and gals. Great forum you've got here..

    Right my issue is as follows.

    I have a new iMac Pro on snow leopard 10.6.4 and it is linked to a Windows SBS server 2007 but i don't think i've done it properly.

    When i switch the machine on all i get on boot up is 1 local user....

    Sometimes i can leave it and it will offer me the 'Other' option which i can then login to the server...

    But most times it doesn't to that... I have to logon as that local user and then unbind the windows domain and rebind it then when i logoff it shows me the 'Other' user...

    Also another thing thats annoying is it doesn't map anything automatically i have had to create a alias icon on my desktop to go to my server space and it can take up to a minute to connect to the server..

    I know with a iMac i shouldn't be using a crappy windows server but I am in an office for of PC's with the windows server and I have to work closely with them and supply them with design files...

    Anybody got any clues or anything that might help ?

    Its driving me crazy and is 100% of the reason I have signed up to this forum to try and get help from people that have years experience of Macs

    I am usually a PC Geek have been for over 15 years... only been on this iMac Pro for 3 months and its a learning process but already I don't like going home to my windows PC

    Thanks in advance....

    Lee
     
  2. Eric-PTEK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #2
    You mean SBS2008, right? Or the new SBS 7 Beta?

    Either way AD is pretty much the same.

    Unfortunately, no matter what Apple says SL's support of AD is useless. I get mine to bind, I get it to join the domain, shows up as a computer in the domain but never can login with the network account.

    There is ADMac and several other 3rd party programs that do make this work. Some support policies and everything else.

    Depends on what your looking for. If you just want simple authentication of a network resource then you can use the free version of Centrify, Centrify Express, I think its www.centrify.com/express

    The problem is that to get real functionality you need to buy the software, and the problem buying the software is they want a 5 user min license plus SA so its over $1,500 to get 1 machine to work.

    One of the companies, and now I forget which(not Centrify) says they will finally address this shortly and offer single user licenses.

    Forget AD and SL, and you can't even call Apple, they won't touch it, even their Enterprise support won't answer any questions even though I was going to pay for the answer. Their new "small business" team is utterly useless regarding it too.

    Clicking on the Aliases works, although a min is pretty long to connect. The problem is if the Mac does to sleep and wakes back up you most likely will not re-connect to the resources, something Apple, not surprisingly blames on Microsoft, yet Linux clients never have this issue.
     
  3. leewheeler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #3
    So in short you are saying i am pretty much stuffed and have to stick with it as it is lol
     
  4. Eric-PTEK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    Or look into a tool like Centrify, ADmac, etc.

    The support is there, just not from Apple.
     

Share This Page