Snow Leopard + Acrobat

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by telecomm, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #1
    Hi all, just thought I'd warn anyone else who likes to live dangerously with the latest software that the Adobe PDF Printer doesn't work in Snow Leopard.

    See Adobe's KB article here.

    Basically, there's a new option in the Print menu (PDF>Save as Adobe PDF) that's supposed to replace it.

    Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any way to use it in Automator for batch processing (printing to the PDF printer was a nice workaround for batch converting things like Word docs, which aren't supported within Acrobat's own batch processing options.)
     
  2. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #2
    I am not upgrading to Snow Leopard unti it has the version number 10.6.3 or higher. Got burned with Leopard.
     
  3. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #3
    I have sooo given up on Acrobat anyway. Preview handles all my PDF's now. Printing is done in <1/4 the time.
     
  4. telecomm thread starter macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #4
    Yeah, I'd be happy if Apple provided a batch convert to PDF option (that worked with more than just image files).

    Still, if you need to do anything like creating forms, etc., Preview just doesn't cut it.
     
  5. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #5
    PDF Pen works wonders. It may be $30 but well worth it.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    Acrobat is not free anyway. Actually it's $300! (I thought it was $200)
    What a ***** joke!!
     
  7. telecomm thread starter macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #7
    Looks nice, but Acrobat's "killer feature" for form creation is, IMHO, JavaScript support (which, of course, only works when the form is opened in Acrobat/Reader).
     
  8. Rt&Dzine macrumors 6502a

    Rt&Dzine

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #8
    Preview doesn't have any of the advanced print production features. I use those a lot.
     
  9. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #9
    You could try out PDFClerk Pro.
     

Share This Page