Snow Leopard and Battery Life

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pcb, Nov 6, 2009.

1. pcb macrumors member

pcb

Hey everybody,

I am noticing a loss with regards to my battery life in my MBP after upgrading it to snow leopard. This is especially prevalent when the computer is asleep, which makes no sense to me.

A habit of mine is to put it to sleep on my desk with the screen open and to walk away, without it being plugged in. Under leopard i could do this and it would still be ticking away hours later. Now under Snow Leopard it drains that battery like I am using the computer heavily, it will only run for like a hour before telling me I need to plug it in.

It even does this with the lid closed.

This makes no sense to me. It is the same battery and the battery reads fine under about this mac.

Is anybody else experiencing this issue? Is there some setting I can change to get it back to the way it was?

This is a big issue for me as I am a student and am lugging this thing around with me all day long and need the battery to perform to its fullest.

Any tips and comments would be appreciated.

Thanks
    pcb

2. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

3. pcb thread starter macrumors member

pcb

well you are one lucky person, it really stinks.

I am in the process of recalibrating my battery but dont really expect that to help any.

4. jpefjr macrumors regular

jpefjr

After you put your Mac to sleep and then later wake it up do you see entries in the Console (Applications->Utilities->Console) with corresponding time codes for sleep and wake of the Mac?

5. cluthz macrumors 68040

cluthz

Did you do an upgrade install or a clean install?
    If you did an upgrade, did you do a permission repair after?

6. mrtravel123 macrumors regular

I have a similar problem.

I bought a new 13" unibody MBP yesterday. Of course, SL is already installed. I used Time Machine to bring over my settings, files, other programs, etc.