Snow Leopard and fan speed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RightGuard, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. RightGuard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    So i just updated to snow leopard and since i did whenever my CPU temp goes up my fan are still hover around 2000 RPM no matter what... when i just had leopard they would move up as the temp did... what is going on?


    Thanks:apple:
     
  2. akbc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #2
    Which mac do you use? 2K RPM sounds pretty normal to me...

    What do you use to monitor the fan speed? iStat or smcFanControl?
     
  3. RightGuard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #3
    I have a Unibody Macbook Pro 2.5 and the CPU temp is going to about 120C and the fans are staying at 2000RPM. I am using iStat... before snow leopard the fan would kick in about 70C and it the computer would stay about 75 with the fan going about 5000RPM..


    this really worries me
     
  4. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #4
    Get SMCFancontrol and raise that minimum speed.
     
  5. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #5
    Are you using any fan control? If you are I would remove correctly and then so an SMC reset. If you're not using a fan control, just do a SMC reset. If you're computer gets that hot with no fan movement, your computer should shut down automatically IIRC.
     
  6. akbc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Try resetting PRAM and/or resetting the SMC.

    If the above methods don't work, call Apple and explain your situation to get your computer fixed.

    In the meantime, you can always use the smcFanControl to max out your fan manually to keep your computer cool.
     
  7. RightGuard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #7
    Nope either of the methods above worked... I would have to send my computer away as there is not apple store here... is there anything else i can do?

    Thanks
     
  8. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  9. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  10. RightGuard thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    #10
    So i was wrong.. it seems like resetting the SMC has works... but it seems like i have to do it everytime i start my computer..
     
  11. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    Shouldn't have to. If the controller isn't retaining settings, then there might be something wrong. You shouldn't have to reset it each time.
     
  12. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    #12
    I am having the same problem. Did you fix it?
     

Share This Page