Snow Leopard and Screen savers

Discussion in 'macOS' started by random man5, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. random man5 macrumors newbie

    random man5

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    None of my 3rd party screen savers and working after installing snow leopard. I used to use fenetres volantes but when i try and select it i get the message:

    "You cannot use the Fenetres volantes screen saver on this computer. Contact the developer of this screen saver for a newer version."

    Are there any good screen savers that work on snow leopard?? And why are old screen savers not working on snow leopard?
     
  2. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #2
    I believe it's because System Preferences is running as 64-bit, and plugins must have the same architecture as the host application, so if the host app (System Preferences) is 64-bit and the plugin is not, then it will fail to load.
     
  3. LurkingIowan macrumors member

    LurkingIowan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    The Middle
    #3
    I'm having the same issue with Electric Sheep. I'm sure that the developers just need some time to update the software, no worries. I've just switched to a default Apple screensaver for now. All in all, if this is our biggest issue with an OSX upgrade, I'd say we have it good.
     
  4. ChrisM6484 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #4
    Same here

    Used to use Fliqlo (clock screensaver) and got a message after the Snow Leopard install that told me it wouldn't work anymore. Tried about 4 different other clock screensavers and couldn't find any that work.

    Agreed, it's not that big of a deal, but it's still kind of annoying.
     
  5. treelover3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #5
    Apple screen saver no longer works after SL install

    Hi all,
    I've read where third party screen savers no longer work after SL is installed, but my apple-built-in screen savers no longer work. I set the screen saver start-time to 5 minutes and if I leave for 10 minutes the screen saver has still not started when I return to the computer.

    Is anyone else having this problem, also? Anyone know how I can correct this?
    Thanks
     
  6. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    Does it work if you log in as a different user?
     
  7. tnsmart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #7
    I opened System Preferences in 32-bit mode and was able to set my third-party screen savers, but after I activated them, this floated around on the screen acting like a screensaver:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #8
    Jamie Zawinski, developer of Xscreensavers, comments on the reasons for this in his usual understated style. :rolleyes:

    Basic problem is screensavers in OS X are actually dynamically loaded code that gets added to the screensaver engine. Since that engine is 64 bit in Snow Leopard, all the old screensavers won't work - you can't add 32 bit code into a 64 bit running process.

    He also rants regarding why this whole design is rather, um, sub-optimal.
     
  9. z1ross macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #9
  10. phalewhale macrumors 6502a

    phalewhale

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #10
    Just downloaded this and noticed some weird activity... When I start the screen saver, and return to my desktop, everything is noticeably brighter. It's like the screen becomes much more saturated. Is this a known problem? It only happens after running red-pill!
     
  11. bmorris macrumors 6502

    bmorris

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    ATL
    #11
    This is ridiculous!!!
    Hardly an third party screen savers work with 10.6, this is stupid!
     
  12. bmorris macrumors 6502

    bmorris

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    ATL
    #12
    If there's been two SL updates and no fix, is there any solution?!
     
  13. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #13
    What a jackass. :rolleyes:

    Anyhow, yup, screensavers must be 64-bit now due to changes in the screensaver engine.

    You also must have the 10.6 SDK to compile them as such, which pretty much means Snow Leopard + Xcode 3.2.
     
  14. Mumstalker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #14
    I'm Using right now one with fractals, wich do works. :p i got it from the apple website to replace my Fenetres, one that died with SL. It's Bollocks that i can't even use my bloody screensaver. Anyway the Fractals one is an ace xD
     
  15. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #15
    Ooooo...which one is it? I love fractal screen savers. :) Gotta know if I have it or not.
     
  16. BulletToothTony macrumors 6502

    BulletToothTony

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #16

Share This Page