Snow Leopard back to Leopard - ISSUES

Discussion in 'iMac' started by djr7572, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. djr7572 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #1
    Will try to make a long story short here. I have an iMac desktop, purchased in 2007 - these are the specs:

    Processor - 2.4 GHz, Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory - 1 GB, 667 MHz, DDR2 SDRAM

    Ok, I was running the latest OS (Snow Leopard) and felt that it was really slowing down my Mac. I would get the "pinwheel" a lot while using Safari, and my machine just really felt like it was being bogged down. SO, I decided that I would go back to running Leopard 10.5. I put in the CPU Drop-in DVD (Leopard installation disk) and proceeded to re-install 10.5. I think the problem is, I didn't pay close enough attention to the install directions/options and found that when 10.5 was fully installed, I had no bookmarks in Safari and no music in my iTunes. I know I did something wrong along the way ... all I wanted to do was go back to 10.5 ... I found myself being asked to register my e-mail, create a password for something else, etc. In short, I took a wrong turn somewhere because I shouldn't have had to do any of those things.

    Is there a fix for this? Is it a matter of re-installing 10.5 but this time choosing a different option in the process?

    Any help on this would be really appreciated.

    Thank you!
     
  2. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #2
    Sounds like u did a clean install that's why you lost everything.
     
  3. djr7572 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_10 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E600 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have everything backed up on an external drive. Is it just a matter of syncing the external drive with my Mac to get everything back on there? If so, any tips on what to watch out for while doing this?
     
  4. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    If it's a time machine backup then yes, otherwise you need to manually copy stuff back.
     
  5. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #5
    Yea this or if you have mobileme u can sync your settings, keychain, dock ect.....
     
  6. djr7572 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_10 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E600 Safari/6533.18.5)

    That $150 or so that I spent on an external hard drive was the smartest thing I've ever done. This could've been a real disaster. 30GB worth of music down the tubes. Hopefully I can get my stuff moved over successfully.

    Thanks, everyone.
     

Share This Page